We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing meal”
Review of Mokoia Restaurant

Mokoia Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mokoia Restaurant is a definitive fine dining experience featuring creative Pacific Rim cuisine using fresh and flavoursome local ingredients. The restaurant specializes in healthy gourmet cuisine using unique indigenous foods and herbs. Executive Chef Ervin Y Garde has created a menu that he feels embraces the essence of contemporary New Zealand culture. Join us for breakfast, high teas, lunch and dinner, enjoy freshly squeezed beverages from our fresh juice bar and experience first class hospitality in a positively breath-taking lakefront location.
rotorua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing meal”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! Where to start ! On booking I was offers a courtesy shuttle which we declined . On arrival our booking wasn't there but we were seating promptly and offered water. You do pay for bottled water but that is to be expected. On the wine menu you can order paddles. A selection of 4 wines to match your food. 60 ml serves but a great idea and for the price of 2 full glasses. Maybe we should have shuttled . The menu offers the choice of shares platters if you choose. Decadence as you can choose 3 entrees , 2 mains and 3 desserts to sample their sumptuous fare . What a visual and generous feast of fare. The mains are generous enough to share. Only complaint was we ate too much!

Helpful?
Thank lwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    37
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5***** food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I got the pleasure of dining here, when i stayed at the resort for a couple of nights. The restaurant is outstanding. The food was amazing and so yummy! the staff are so warm and welcoming. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an Amazing experience”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When we made our reservation we indicated that it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary so requested a table with a view of the Lake. On arrival we were delighted to find our table had been decorated with red blossoms, a red candle with hearts and a single long stemmed red rose. We choose this restaurant not only because they used native spices and herbs but also they had sharing platters for all the courses (you select three dishes from each course). These were served on one platter but two smaller portions of each dish. Each were very yummy and enough to appreciate the taste and texture of each dish. there was also a good range of wines.
Lastly but most important the service was superb. We noticed that there was another group celebrating a family members birthday so we have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant for all sorts of occasions. Next time we will have to try out the Spa!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“As with the hotel, friendly service big smiles and excellent food”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Soup du jour (spinach & potato) was very tasty. Steak with proscuitto and truffle mashed potatoes was also excellent. My travel partner took a vegetarian phyllo pastry with Brie, cashews & veggies and said this was also very tasty. Dessert was an amazing sort of chocolate cake with bailey's ice cream that was decadent! Service was impeccable. We were a group of 21 people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, terrible service”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We ate at Mokoia restaurant with high hopes after many glowing recommendations from friends. The food was excellent, entrees were flavoursome and well presented. The lamb main was delicious and well sized, the duck was well cooked and the venison was fantastic.

Unfortunately, the service left much to be desired. After ordering a bottle of wine it was left on the table and not poured or offered for tasting, despite being over $100 for the bottle. It was also not the year advertised in the menu. Our water glasses were not refilled despite asking repeatedly. The wait staff were inattentive and did not come to the table other than to deliver the food. We asked for the cheque 3 times and it was not delivered, and only after half an hour when we stood up and waited at the counter did they bring it, despite being the only customers left in the restaurant.

If you are going to charge $44 for a main course then a certain standard of service is expected, and sadly this was not met. We will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris13245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokoia Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mokoia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing