We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice getaway, go in the off season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Wai Ora Lakeside Spa in December, so it was fairly warm, but it rained a lot – it was really nice to be able to jump into the hot springs while the rain was falling overhead. The atmosphere was relaxed and quiet, although it was quite busy. We stayed in the Deluxe Studio, it was comfortable and clean, and it was nice to have the private outdoor area. The room service was nice, though a little slow to arrive. It was great to have internet access in the room, and there were little luxuries like a robe each, which I liked. The day spa was glorious, quite expensive, but worth it for the full holiday experience. I tried the White Volcanic Stone massage, it was awesome! We drove in and parked, but you can get airport transfers as well, I think. We looked at ordering the gourmet picnic basket, but the weather wasn’t fine enough for a picnic in the end. The food was great, a bit expensive, but about what you’d expect from the quality of the hotel. It was nice to get the chance to try some native New Zealand flavours. My partner is gluten-intolerant and we were able to request gluten free food for him which was great. Overall, great hotel, nice staff, comfy and clean, expensive but worth it for a luxury getaway, lots of nice extras, try to go when it’s a bit quieter.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beangene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

When I found Wai ora Clarion Hotel online, I decided to buy their gift cards to use during my stay. I had a nice relaxing flight to New Zealand.
My arrival was greeted by their courteous Hotel staff, I just loved the artwork and décor that certainly added to the fresh atmosphere and friendly faces that were always smiling and ready to help me with just about anything.
I especially enjoyed their luxurious spa’s and extraordinary vista’s that really complete the entire experience, I can say that this Hotel earns its 5 stars with pure dedication and professionalism every time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, especially the beach front vista's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The massage/spa area is very nice. The dinner was nice ( some things a little bit cold & awkward to eat). Luckily we had a voucher as it would be very expensive otherwise. The rooms were nice enough, but smelt a bit like fresh paint. Service was excellent, very pleasant & helpful staff :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernice1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked this hotel thinking it would be quite special as it sells itself as a 5 star hotel We booked a superior suite. I was so disappointed by the standard of the room This is nothing more than a motel. There is nothing about the rooms which could be remotely compared to a 5 star hotel. It has the look and feel of a roadside motel. The balcony was very dirty and had clearly not been cleaned before our arrival. The pool area was very unwelcoming and very little space for more than one or two couples at a time.
We were amused to find a large carrier bag full of boxes of condoms under the sofa! Our immediate thought was that perhaps members of staff were using the room for their own personal use. The young lady at reception offered no apology nor a explanation when I handed them over!
The funniest part of our stay was our dinner in the restaurant. I have to say the food was delicious. The service was incredibly slow. The couple beside us waited over an hour inbetween their first two courses. We had ordered a portion of chips with our main course. We couldn't believe what they put on the table. We were quite clearly being served a portion of fries from the MacDonalds down the road!!!! Hilarious.
All in all I would not stay here again. There are plenty other hotels in the area which I think are 5 star. Good food though!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Have recently spent a birthday weekend here. The whole resort is exceptionally clean and well kept. None off the "tired" furnishings that can be common in some places. The location is right on the lake and a short drive into town. The rooms are laid out in motel style facing into the central pool and landscaped garden area. They are smallish but very clean, well appointed and quiet. One of the best parts of the experience are the people. Exceptionally helpful and accommodating. This goes for the spa staff as well. We had an excellent massage and pedicure. The one area that let our stay down was the restaurant. While the food was good - as expected for circa $35-40 for a main - the service was very disappointing. We waited 1.5hours for our main at dinner and 45mins for our breakfast on both mornings and the table wasn't cleared so we sat for 90 mins with our starter plates in front of us. That said the owner takes service seriously, listened and responded quickly. I don't anticipate this will be a common experience and we both agreed we would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this resort for only a night but I had a great experience. Our hotel room was nice and bright but the best thing was maybe the friendliness of the staff. Everyone treated us as if we were the only ones staying there, despite the hotel being full that night. I’m glad we went there because I found some really cool beauty products at their spa (like mud for your face and stuff). The only thing I didn’t like was that it was so far away from town. It was quite a bit of a drive and I was exhausted already. But oh well, our stay was pretty good, with the great food from their restaurant really made it special. Next time I’ll know to expect a longer drive from town.
I would recommend this place to anyone who likes a relaxing adventure next to nature.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff really made this place special. Everyone we dealt with was accommodating and genuine - nothing was a problem. This coupled with the views and the delicious food from the onsite restaurant make a great choice for a relaxing get away. Oh and the spa treatments were excellent as well! Thank you for an wonderful weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
883 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
2.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £91 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 10 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing