We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights between the Christmas & NY Period. To be honest I was expecting it to be a lot 'fancier'. But never the less, it was fine. Comfortable room, good shower, and great spa/pool area. Complementary Rotorua Mud soap was great too. Bit further from town that I had expected, but that's nobody's fault!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    98
    44
    22
    8
See reviews for
39
292
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just been to a wedding at the resort. Stayed the night before with the bride and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Then on the day of the wedding they again went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for the outdoor service and the reception indoors. The rooms were all fully booked and that didn't affect the wedding set up or the wedding itself.

Room Tip: We were upgraded from a studio to an upstairs room over looking the resort. Had no problem at all wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I wondered whether I was expecting too much or whether I had in fact been ripped off. My partner and I shared a mutual disappointed feeling. While the staff that greeted us at reception were terrific, the staff in the restaurant lacked a sense of urgency to serve its customers.
Our room was modern but you would expect more for a delux lake view room - very basic amenities. We thought we'd pay the extra for the view but in the end we had to stand outside our room to get the view. Disappointed we spent so much money on accommodation that didn't stack up. We couldn't even get a massage to ease our disappointment. They were booked out for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We booked through the internet and I got a confirmation for a deluxe king size bedroom.arriving at 9pm the clearly stressed duty manager couldn't handle the situation. She insisted I booked a twin bed room, I showed her the email, again she just offered excuses. After waiting around for one hour she finally managed to "make" a king bedroom by joining the two beds together. No apology, no welcome drink, no hospitality.
The room is. It definitely not worth 200 bucks, there's no "deluxe" in here. The room is very very small, very few amenities. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I hate to write a negative review but I don't have anything good to say about my experience with the Wai Ora Spa. We were told that two of the employees of the spa declined to come in to work on the day we were there, and there were no other openings for the staff who were there.

We made reservations at the restaurant at 8 and finally received a menu at 8:45. They filled our water glasses by 9. We watched two groups of people leave due to the horrible service. By 9:15 we got our salads and by 10 were finally able to eat our entrée. Nobody checked on us to fill a water glass or ask about a glass of wine. Before we were even done eating our entrees (2 hours after our arrival), they handed us the bill (which, of course, was calculated incorrectly).

The hotel offered 'complimentary' wifi, which didn't work.

At the end of this frustrating afternoon, I'm not sure that it was worth it to come to Rotorua. It definitely wasn't worth it to stay at Wai Ora Resort and I would think twice before coming here.

Room Tip: Would not recommend staying here at all. Just being honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cagc408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed there for two nights with a group. The hotel was nice, with available outside spas and very cold swimming pool, well situated near the lake. The beach was not very clean, the pool too cold. We had dinner there twice and some problem with the service : very slow and the waiter was a bit young for this job. He insisted a lot to serve us wine, telling us it was included in the price of the dinner but we found it (very expensive !) on our bill on the last day..... Very unfair.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The lakeside view was spectacular and the sound of trickling water from the central pool/ feature was instantly relaxing as you opened your room door in the morning. The atmosphere of the whole place was pure relaxation. Staff were really happy & chatty. Had a massage & facial treatment with volcanic mud from Hell's Gate whilst there too which was amazing! Spa area was great, with robes/slipper provided. There was a lovely bridge & stream through to a small garden which was lovely to walk around, listening to the birds. Jacuzzi and heated pool was fab in the evening with a glass of wine - except for we got swarmed by midges at sunset! Rooms were nice, everything we needed, compact - but who stays in their room when there's a spa a few steps away?! Loved Rotorua!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
400 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 10 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing