We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I hate leaving bad review but this is one hotel for which i must give caution and say 'buyer beware.' I can't say anything good about the hotel or it's staff. We sat in the dining room at dinner waiting to be given menus for 45 minutes. Another 30 minutes until our water glasses were filled. The food was ok, but didn't make up for the awful service. We hoped to use the spa during our stay at the Wai Ora SPA and were told we had appointments by the front desk staff. Later that night we received a call to notify us that they were booked and didn't have appointments. Don't let them fool you when they say they have wifi. They don't. It was, by far, the worst hotel experience I've had in awhile.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    90
    42
    22
    8
See reviews for
37
279
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night with my adult son, and we really appreciated the kindness and service orientation of the staff, serving us an excellent dinner even after kitchen opening hours!
Unfortunately, we didn't have time to enjoy the Spas facilities, but room was clean, welcoming and cosy, with comfortable beds, in a quiet environment.
This hotel is well located, allowing easy access to Redwood, and local scenic roads.
Did not regret my choice!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I only stayed for a few nights and I wish we would have stayed here a bit longer. We didn't have time to eat at their restaurant but it looks very nice and has great reviews. They also have a nice bar. Rooms are modern and cozy. I would stay there again. The only draw back is it's distance from city centre. But being away from downtown you don't smell the sulfur from the geothermal springs. The staff is very friendly. Multiple hot tubs, sauna, pool, spa and it's a small hotel. Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochheim am Main, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is nothing more than any Motel but much more expensive. With their Day-Spa and their pricy Restaurant they want to make the Impression of a 5-Star Hotel which it is clearly not. The Hotel-Bar was uninviting, the rooms were old, damaged (window was loose, visible repair-work in the bath) and were tubular and by that they felt very much oppressive. Due to that fact we weren't even abled to watch TV from the bed, because the TV was so far left of it.
Despite the many rooms there were only two (!) sunloungers. But because the entire pool area was so uninviting, not even those were used by anyone.
The pools were not well attended to (full of dead flies, visible grease film on the water although no one except us had been using it for some time).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MontyZ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights between the Christmas & NY Period. To be honest I was expecting it to be a lot 'fancier'. But never the less, it was fine. Comfortable room, good shower, and great spa/pool area. Complementary Rotorua Mud soap was great too. Bit further from town that I had expected, but that's nobody's fault!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just been to a wedding at the resort. Stayed the night before with the bride and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Then on the day of the wedding they again went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for the outdoor service and the reception indoors. The rooms were all fully booked and that didn't affect the wedding set up or the wedding itself.

Room Tip: We were upgraded from a studio to an upstairs room over looking the resort. Had no problem at all wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I wondered whether I was expecting too much or whether I had in fact been ripped off. My partner and I shared a mutual disappointed feeling. While the staff that greeted us at reception were terrific, the staff in the restaurant lacked a sense of urgency to serve its customers.
Our room was modern but you would expect more for a delux lake view room - very basic amenities. We thought we'd pay the extra for the view but in the end we had to stand outside our room to get the view. Disappointed we spent so much money on accommodation that didn't stack up. We couldn't even get a massage to ease our disappointment. They were booked out for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.2 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.7 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing