We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all it claims to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Not all it claims to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

When your website sets you up as the best hotel/resort in Rotorua then you have a lot to live up to. The little attention to detail that make a top hotel/resort are sadly missing at Wai Ora Resort.

I believe that hotels must always get to occasions for guests right - when they arrive and when they check out. On arrival at Wai Ora we were left to carry our own bags to our suite and not that they were busy as there were only two other couples in the resort. When we left, carrying our bags again, there were problems with a pre-paid gift voucher that left a sour taste at the end of what should have been a delightful experience.

They had another opportunity to impress as they had been advised on booking that this was a special celebration. A bottle of bubbles, a complimentary drink at the bar, flowers or even a personal note would have been welcomed.

NO, Wai Ora Resort are really a basic impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Wine Tourist
Thank you for your review and your comments concerning our service. I have spoke to my staff regarding your stay and wish to apologise for the lack of service that you received during your recent stay. We have had a number of front office staff changes and unfortunately our normal service expectations were not followed but I am pleased to say that as a result of your review I expect that our normal service standards will be followed. I note from talking with the staff that you enjoyed our Mokoia Restaurant and its offerings. Again thank you for your review which is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    94
    43
    22
    8
See reviews for
37
284
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have been here twice (New Years 2014 and May 2014) - and both times have been awesome. The superior suite with a balcony is lovely - immaculate, spacious and private. Love the spa in the room. Love the pool and outdoor spa and saunas (& use of the robes/slippers). Love the spa treatments (massage, pedicure, manicure & facial) and canapés (with a glass of wine). Just a very relaxing place to chill out and we enjoyed every moment. The rooms and grounds are very clean and well maintained. The atmosphere of the whole place is very relaxing. The added bonus of having the lake right there (& swans) is lovely to go out for walks. And not far from a variety of shops as well.

The staff are all very accommodating. The owner Bryan is an awesome host. The Manager Kapil is great (he remembered us from our last visit), and along with his crew made us feel so welcome and they were always smiling & so helpful. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and the food was always delicious - thank you Chef - and also thank you for his cupcakes candle surprise for our anniversary!!
Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Definitely the best rooms are the superior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you very much for your review and your comments about the resort. It is always very satisfying to both myself and my staff that we have made our guests stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. As a repeat guest it is even more satisfying as you already have an expectation and that has been met. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Best regards
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel provides a good value in a very nice lakeside location. Good restaurant. Rooms are nice and clean with well kept grounds. In notoriously pricey New Zealand this place is actually quite good value

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear George
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay with us represented good value as this is what my staff and I aspire to provide along with good service. As you rightly point out we are not in the city but are a quiet lakeside full service hotel on 2.5 acres of landscaped grounds.
best regards
Bryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thanks to Wai Ora spa for a lovely family dinner for my Dad's 80th and brother's 50th. Really good place for a family. We did not stay but just went there for dinner. The decor of the room is a little dated but my Dad liked it. Staff were very nice and accommodated our needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 712suzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Suzanne
I am pleased that you father and brother enjoyed their joint celebration at our Mokoia Restaurant. Your ratings of our service and value is appreciated and I will pass this on to our staff who work very hard to deliver the best service and value possible.
Regards
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stay there for 2 nights, booked for 2 rooms. 1 deluxe studio and 1 premiun suite.
Both were very nice and clean. The premium suite was great as we had a toddler with us, lots of space, jacuzzi and they gave us a cot (nicely made).
Its a shame that this is not really lakefront and as you are close to the lake there are lots of insect so you will need to close your door at all times.
There was a restaurant on side with room service, that was great especially when you have a toddler and want a relax dinner. Had breakfast and dinner food from their restaurant. The staff were very nice and helpful.
Had massage at their spa, very nice but the only thing i didnt like is that they leave the lights on....

On our check out we got charged from the slippers we took as i thought it was free and got charged $30 !!!!! i thought it was a joke for slippers!!!!

Overall the stay was good and place is clean.

Room Tip: I recommend a premiun suite, more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. Your comments about the spa and having the lights remain on have been taken up with staff as our normal practice is to dim the lights. As we are on the lake edge of Lake Rotorua we do get trout flies at night. These flies are extremely small, do not bite like mosquitoes but are a nuisance. They are attractive to light at night and hence we advise all guests to ensure that their windows and doors are kept closed at night when the lights are on. I note from your review that you used room service from our onsite Mokoia Restaurant which is a lot of our guests are now doing particularly as there is no room service charge and the selection available is exactly the same as if you were in the restaurant.
Best regards
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandi Gobindgarh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Myself and my wife were there on our honeymoon.. We reached rotorua after a memorable and Great Road Selfdrive from Auckland...The Resort is located quite far from the city centre but the property is very nice,elegant and peaceful...2nights stay at Wai Ora was lovely as we were staying in Lake View and Lush Green Lawn n Swimming Pool View....The rooms were quite small but were having all the mineral and Natural Nz amenities....One can relax sitting outside the room in the corridor enjoying the great weather and lake view which is very much relaxing.....The wifi was free...The breakfast was ok, one has to choose from not many options (no buffet breakfast).....The quality of food was good... The staff was very courteous and friendly...The hotel manager was very courteous... Helped us booking attractions and guiding for the good ones... But the worst part is hotel reception and kitchen is closed after 11pm till 7 am in the morning... Any help needed, will be taken care of after 7 am when the manager comes to duty...If one has to take early morning flight, one has to check out the previous night or have to wait till 7 am...Moreover the hotel staff and Chef also comes around 7 am, may be a little earlier than 7 am as you will not get even the breakfast before 7am....this is quite pathetic on the resort management rules... Never had this type of experience during my travel around the world...This was the first one and quite shocking....there are many tourists attractions to experience especially the Volcanoes, local cultural shows with Dinner, Sheep show, and much more..But all the attractions and Central part of the town like departmental stores,restaurants, etc are quite far from the resort.. One has to be self dependant as the public transport is not available from the hotel..One has to call for a taxi which is very expensive.... It's not like this was a cheap place to stay! My Travel agent(Cox n Kings) told though, this was a very relaxing experience, although I don;t think that I would stay unless it was part of a package as I don't think it would have been quite worth the price otherwise....I think the resort management gives good deals to the travel agents but its not that worth staying for the tourists too far from the centre of the city....!!!

Room Tip: Lake side view rooms are the best... And if checking out early morning before 7am, Check out the pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varunbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue. Stayed for 2 nights during a NZ road trip. Found our stay to be a nice relaxing and rejuvenating break during our travels. The rooms , particularly the bathrooms are attractive. Very nice toiletries are provided. Ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room and thought the food was excellent. Enjoyed the bar too. Loved lounging in the mineral pool. I had a facial at the spa and felt it was one of the best that I have ever had. All of the staff in the hotel, bar, restaurant, and spa were extremely nice.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing