We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome”
Review of Volcanic Air

Volcanic Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$174.64*
and up
Mt. Tarawera Volcano Scenic Floatplane Tour from Rotorua
More Info
US$293.55*
and up
Mt Tarawera Helicopter Tour with Volcano Landing
More Info
US$665.12*
and up
White Island Helicopter Flight and Volcano Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer you an extensive range of scenic helicopter flights and scenic floatplane air tours.Land on the active Volcano of White Island or our dormant Volcano Mt Tarawera.View from above the dramatic and spectacular destination of Rotorua. The main theme of our scenic flight tours is to showcase the many crater lakes, volcanic and geothermal landscape of the region Rotorua and Bay of Plenty.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awsome”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I had a sightseeing trip with my father to see Hite island tarawera and the geysers it was absolutly awsome!!!!the weather was gorgeous and the crew amasing Dorien Danielle Angela & Jessy.To do absolutly!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlaawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    9
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beyond Awesome”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This tour exceeded our expectations. The weather cleared beautifully for us and we had amazing views over the lakes, mountains and geothermal features of Rotorua. Our helicopter pilot, Danielle, was an excellent pilot who kept us feeling comfortable and safe and was also a very good tour guide. We had a one hour tour and felt the indulgence was worth it for the wonderful experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A very unique experience.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

A very professional operation. This was a very unique experience. The flight out to the volcano alone is very picturesque, then it is taken to a whole new level once inside the volcano. Very knowledgable pilot/tour guide.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drew119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Flightseeing Trip”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was fortunate to be able to take a scenic flight in the Volcanic Air Safari's classic Otter float plane. What a great trip up and over the volcanic and thermal area.
Angela, our pilot was excellent, giving commentary along the way. The plane is beautifully maintained and for old plane fanatics, it's a chance of a life time.
VAS also has a Cessna 206 float plane and 4 helicopters and they offer a lot of other tours if you have time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank heysooooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a special site in the world, and the team at VAS are professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Excellent pilots!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CYazbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcanic Air also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing