We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners and comfy beds!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great owners and comfy beds!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here one night on a quick weekend trip to Rotorua. Now it is not the the most flash place in the world but it is right on the lake, the owners are amazing and extremely helpful and I had the best night sleep I have had in NZ! The beds were comfy and we had heaps of space. Yes some of the finishings are a bit dated but we were not looking for that. It was really homely and comfy and warm. I will definitely go back and recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
26
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
perth australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This motel is located right across from the lake and has great views which suited us much more than being in the Novotel right behind it with no balconies. Its worth going past the big hotels and the ones on the main road to check this one out, its nice and quiet and comfy at a reasonable price. Upstairs rooms are best for the view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed one night end of February 2012 in an upper end room. The room faced the lake with a view across a grassed area and road to the lakes edge. A table and seating was provided on the balcony. It was around a five minute walk to an area with several restaurants. The room was of good size with a large flat screen T.V., self catering area with sink,oven and fridge and separate bathroom and all was spotlessly clean. The only downside was that the room was dated. However, the heating was efficient and much needed, as unexpectedly the weather was cold and wet.The hosts, John and Joan were very helpful and friendly and arranged our Maori experience evening which was excellent despite the poor weather. It was a little more expensive than the Novotel next door who had an offer on including breakfast but all in all a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We thought the Ledwich looked very attractive when we drove up. The owner was friendly and very helpful, the room was beautiful, view of the lake, good kitchen and bathroom and roomy bedroom/sitting room. Hot pool out the back was perfect after a day sightseeing. The motel is close to all the facilities in town and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avenabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a very pleasant two nights at Ledwich Lodge, right near the restaurant heart of town. It was within sight of the lake and a street away from the historic Bath House, Government Gardens and mudpools, and easy to connect to the main road south. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a huge TV. The only convenience lacking was a microwave but everything else was there. Nice small warm pool at the back and a spa bath in the unit. The owners were very obliging and informative, willing to stop what they were doing for a chat. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent several nights here during the Rugby World Cup, and were really impressed. The Motel has great views over Lake Rotorua, and is very close to many good restaurants and to the main shopping area. Our friendly hosts John and Joan even flew our flag on their second flag-pole! We had a good sized room, clean and with all the facilities we needed including the guests' laundry. We'll definitely be back some time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNMPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

After finding much of the accommodation in town booked out, came to this motel. Room decor was a little outdated but was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. Bathroom lacked a bit of natural light. Very good location, walking distance to lake, restaurants and shops. The next morning there was a Sunday market set up right across the road which provided some interest. Did wake up in the morning and there was a sulfurous gas smell in the room as one may expect in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Lodge B&B
Lake Lodge B&B
#23 of 52 in Rotorua
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledwich Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledwich Lodge Motel

Property: Ledwich Lodge Motel
Address: 12-14 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledwich Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ledwich Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing