We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High octane fun!”
Review of Raftabout Rotorua

Raftabout Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for an awesome day out white water rafting then look no further than Raftabout, a family owned company that aims to excel. We offer the choice of 3 different rivers to white water raft. Choose which river suits your ideal adventure. All the trips offer outstanding New Zealand scenery with a varying amounts of challenging water water thrown in. For those who love adrenalin thrills, then definitely check out our Kaituna Waterfall trip, you’ll get a BUZZ going over the highest commercially rafted waterfall (a MASSIVE 7 metres). Available all year round!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“High octane fun!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you like rapids, this is your tour. The YouTube video gives you a good sense of the trip. You are only in the water 45-minutes, but it is exciting all the way through. You are given a wetsuit and rubber shoes. You just need your swimsuit and a towel. You can rent a towel if you forget ($2). They have a great photographer, who gets excellent shots from the shore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply AWESOME!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great friendly staff and guides. Many great rapids before and after the huge Kaituna Falls. Awesome! Their professional photos are amazing and well worth the money. A great value, Huge Fun! Best part of our New Zealand Adventure!

They are easy to find if you prefer not to take the shuttle.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Friendly staff and great safety measures helped to make me a little less nervous. Josh our guide was very funny but also really made sure everyone was well trained and understood all the safety measures before we set off. It was an amazing experience. One I will never forget.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank harryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our guide Josh was incredible to begin with. We did the Kaituna Waterfall and it was one of the best experiences ever! I would highly recommend doing this tour with this company. Book and don't regret!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blush1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must do- such a great experience”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I had never been rafting before, only one in our crew had. I was a little nervous but mostly excited about tackling Kaituna Waterfall. It lived up to my expectations with stacks of excitement and action. The crew is really excellent- supportive, attentive and really enthusiastic. They picked us up on time and dropped us off on time. Supplied us with all the kit and took some amazing pictures.

My only issue was it was over too fast! Great work Raftabout! Thanks again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raftabout Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
Tikitere, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Raftabout Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing