We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Rotorua Hideaway Lodge is a great place to stay with kids! We had a one bedroom motel unit which was plenty big enough for the 4 of us. We slept in the queen size bed in the bedroom, while our children slept in the lounge. We had a bit of a juggle at bedtime where we wanted to sit up, watch TV, have a cuppa etc. So we put the kids to bed in the bedroom and moved them later on while they slept.

The play area is the other side of the carpark which is convenient for us to sit on the patio and keep an eye on the kids. They had a great range of adventure climbing frames, flying fox as well as open lawn space for football. Our two kids were busy making friends with the children from the other units and were not happy about being dragged away for family time at Te Puia or Rainbow Springs etc.!!

The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging a free Easter Egg Hunt for children to participate in. They showed the children their farm animals and how to feed them.

The location is only a short 5min drive to the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Travel_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Greetings from Rotorua Hideaway Lodge. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us and the kids enjoyed the treasure hunt.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your spacious accommodation and all the facilities that We provided. We certainly do take pride in our motel an appreciate your kind words.



We certainly do hope to see and your friends again one day.
Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here with my two young boys & they absolutely loved the place, making so many friends in the playground they were hardly in the room. Very unique & creative with fun wooden statue sculptures made from decking timber scattered throughout the grounds.

The bath tub table & chairs, a boat & tunnels in the playground, along with a flying fox were well used. As well the miniature horses in the playground offered real character, as did Tess the friendly Dalmation. The small golf course was fun for both kids & parents.

A great surprise was the Easter Egg Hunt on Easter Sunday, with each room given separate clues in poem form to find their stash of goodies, all the kids thoroughly enjoyed it.

I have to mention the daily animal feedings which my boys always wanted to be back in time for, as they enjoyed feeding the alpacas, cow, sheep & chickens.

The rooms are very basic but very clean & cater for all one's needs during a short stay, easy access to town & activities. Ideal for families with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad_plus_two_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hello reviewer, Thanks for reviewing us, great to hear that everyone had a great time and enjoyed all the facilities of our complex. Yes I must admit the playground and animals keeps the children entertained for ages, giving you, the parents a well deserved break......just what one needs while on holiday. Best wishes and look forward to your return soon. Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Good location just off the main road into town, so all local attractions are easy to get to. The rooms are basic but comfortable and have everything you need. The farm makes it an interesting stay and would be great for kids!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathaly911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hi there Nathdy911, thank you for the feed back. Yes our location is great isn't it????, handy to all the local attractions. It was nice to read that you thought that our rooms were comfortable and that you had everything that you needed, because that is what we strive for?? We hope that the rest or your travels went well, and hope to see you back some time. Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Good Value accommodation - very helpful lady on reception with great local knowledge - clean unit with small kitchen so you could cook your own meals (+ full size refrigerator, microwave, table & chairs) - comfortable beds.
. . very interesting accommodation with animal farm attached where your children can help with the feeding... Also a great playground with some wonderful clever art deco .. definitely a great stay for a family option (though we didn't have toddlers we still enjoyed it) |
Parking is at the door of unit so that is always very convenient to the traveller!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeapingLizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hello Leapinglizz, Thank you for reviewing us and your lovely comments. It is so nice to hear that people like the service and facilities that we provide plus all the lovely art work. Look forward to your return soon. Best wishes Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Amazing place for the kiddies! My son loved the animals and playground with the flying fox and tunnels, made me wish I was a kid again :)
Freshly baked muffins on arrival, help with booking our adventures and fresh eggs from their own chickens!!
Great stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbellycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Greenbellycat, thank you for the very nice review & your recommendations. It is always our pleasure to be able to deliver good kiwi hospitality. The facilities that we have here are a key element to such a great stay. In the meantime have a great year, and look forward to your return. Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay one night in Rotorua but didn't make any reservations. So we decided to call this motel after reading the execellent reviews! What a gem! Only minutes away from the city centre and for a great value, this is the place to be. Loved the extra touch of muffins and milk. Truly a heart warming kiwi hospitality! What an amazing country with amazing people!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Hi Marisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to reviewing us. Yes we always get told that we have a little gem here. I think the personal touches go a long way when it comes to making people feel special don't they!!!!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us whilst holidaying in Rotorua and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future. Best wishes Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed four nights with my wife and two children aged 3 and 6 in a 2 bedroom unit. The units were modern and clean, I used the car BBQ outside which was great and the kids enjoyed the park and the animals. The mini golfwas also a hit with them, the location is close to many main attractions and only 4km out of central Rotorua. The only thing that I would add would be a DVD and TV in the main.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Hello Brent. Thank you for reviewing us here at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge. We are pleased to read that you all enjoyed yourselves and that you made good use of the facilities that we have on offer here. .Best Wishes Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
5 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing