We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our children's best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our children's best”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our children loved Hideaway Lodge for it's creative outdoor playground and friendly dogs, ponies, alpacas, sheep, chicken, etc. It made their days! Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, the kitchen well equipped and the internet connection was good. The only drawback is the location close to the main road. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our stay and found it a very good value and convenient base to explore Rotorua and surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallkidsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi guys, Thank you most kindly for the very generous review you have posted. It is not only very much appreciated, we are really pleased to know that you were really comfortable in our complex. Great to hear that you all enjoyed everything that was made available to you. Yes the animals are a great hit with the children, aren't they???

We close in wishing you all a lovely New Year. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Hideaway Lodge excels again to accommodate our group of 15pax. Rooms are clean, cosy with adequate kitchen facilities. Hosts Karen & partner have made a wonderful outdoor park for children to play and visitors to meet some lovely farm animals. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyeYim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hello Wye Yim and troops! Thank you for the lovely review....you are all fabulous people - you get 10 plus from me!!!! Looking forward to seeing you again this coming April with your new group!!! .i am so glad that you all enjoyed our beautiful country. I hope you have a safe trip home... and see you all back in April 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Perfect place for a family break!...loved everything about this place: the accommodation, the play area, the hosts! We will be coming back for years to come :) thanks for a great weekend! This is relaxed, but also really great service the hosts make you feel very welcome and we just hope that the Rotorua Hideaway Lodge stays around for years to come!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Will hi," WOW" thanks for a great review.

It was great to be able to meet you all, and to see that you enjoyed all the facilities that Rotorua Hideaway Lodge has to offer, and our beautiful Rotorua as well. Yes its always a delight for us when guests enjoy their stay & get really good value from all that we have to offer.

We close in wishing you all a great New Year, and look forward to your return soon. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A fantastic week with two young children. The outdoor areas kept the kids occupied for hours and they made some new friends. They really loved being able to help feed the chooks and brush down the miniature horses. The accommodation was suitably kitted out. Karen was. Lovely hostess. Highly recommend, especially for young families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hello David, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated.

Its great to know that what we are doing here is working so well for the families that we have staying with us. Thank you. We have been lucky enough this year to have lots of lovely people like yourself make the most of our facilities and what Rotorua has to offer.

Yes the outdoor area keeps the children occupied for hours, and brushing down the horses is great not only for them me as well, saves me a job to do later, plus the children get a lovely experience out of it.

We close in thanking you, and look forward to your return
soon, and so will the animals.
Karen and Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Rather difficult to find the entrance in pitch dark and pouring rain when we arrived, so name was accurate. Warm welcome from hostess. Accommodation a bit tired, but comfortable. Probably ideal for young families. Quirky sculptures and activities for kids. Didn't like the communal breakfast room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Yes you are right Marianne Rotorua Hideaway is difficult to find at night when there are no lights on to show you where you are going. So terribly sorry about that, but I had given up on you arriving that night as it was so terribly late, so therefore I turned all my lights of to
my entrance way off, as it was almost 11.00pm well outside my operating hours of 10.00pm
when you arrived.

I do wish though that you had rung me earlier on in the evening Marianne, to inform me of your very late arrival, and I would have kept my entrance lights on for you, and that way it would have fixed all the problems of you not being able to find our entrance way. I felt quiet bad about that when you both turned up round about 11.00pm in the pouring rain, and feeling cold. But if only I had know that you were arriving that hour of the night goodness me, would had made things much more easier for everyone??????


Yes there is nothing like getting a warm welcome when you arrive is there???, and yes the rooms are comfortable....something that we pride ourselves on. The sculptures and activities that we have here at the lodge always seem to amaze people with sheer delight,
the best in Rotorua as all our guest keep telling us.

Sorry to hear that you didn’t like our breakfast room Marianne, as its always a great hit with all our guest, after all you can eat all you like for $7.00 per person.

What i should have done is asked you whether or not you would have preferred to have your breakfast brought to you in your room the night that you check in, as this is another option that some of our guest take.

As some of our guest do request this and that is not a problem. It just means they don’t get to it eat all they like, just what is brought on their tray.


We close wishing you well for the future

With our warmest regards to you both, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My kids rate the Hideaway Lodge as the best place they have ever stayed in New Zealand. They loved the rambling playground, the animals - especially being able to feed them, and the outdoor games (swing ball, golf and petanque). My husband and I loved the outdoor seating and being able to relax while the kids enjoyed all that was on offer. The Lodge is really close to the Gondola and Rainbow springs and other attractions and there's no Rotorua smell. The hosts are brilliant - we got fresh muffins on arrival! The units themselves whilst fairly basic were very clean. The motels back onto a busy road so there is a bit of traffic noise at night but we would definitely return for another stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DW452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi there...We did enjoy meeying you all, and it is great to hear from you and to know that you were comfortable and relaxed while you stayed with us. Thank you.

Yes, it is great to have clean, comfortable units, makes a big difference doesn't it??. I don't think I ever saw the children looking bored when you stayed with us, as I think the playground and the animals kept them entertained for ages.

I think the the feeding time with the animals are always a high light with children, and parents for that matter.

We close thanking you again, and wishing you all the very best and hope to see you back
soon.

With our warm regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We visited in June - when the days were nearly shortest - staying for 4 nights. The length of stay gave us the opportunity to meet people who work there; some of the other guests; and take advantage of all the amenities. Summary - is that I highly recommend Rotorua Hideaway Lodge. Now... read on for why:

1.) Because of our flight time, we didn't get there until 10 PM. I let Karen know in advance and she waited for us; was prepared; ensured we even had a warm drink and cookies (hey - it was June - it was about 5 degrees out when we got there)

2.) One of the workers (whoever fed the animals - alpacas, ponies, sheep) let us know about the 5:00 feeding. My 17 year old and 11 year old both eagerly got there at 4:55 and had the chance to spend the next 20 minutes getting approached by tame, friendly animal who enjoyed getting fed.

3.) They have a creative playground - look at the pictures on the website - not like you'd find at a school. Included a mini zip line, slides, climbing areas. My 11-year old was a bit big for it - but played every day.

4.) We were in the midst of a 2-week vacation. We needed to do laundry; and had great equipment onsite to do so

5.) It is easy access to Rotorua and attractions - yet not in the congested tourist area. On a major road, we easily went to attraction in just a few minutes. There are quite a number nearby (Luge, Zorb, Wingspan Birds of Prey, The Maze, and all the stuff in Rotorua Centre). Karen gave us good advice on where to go and when.

6.) Everything was clean. We brought in food to cook - and had everything we could possibly want to prepare and eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dfcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello DFCameran "WOW" what a wonderful review, Thanks for the great feed back, it really is good to know what we have at Hideaway is working well for everyone (especially the animal feeding). Yes the creative playground I must admit is great, nothing like it in Rotorua is there???.

I think just about every accommodation place in Rotorua has a brought one I think???, kind of boring really. There is nothing like being creative and thinking outside the square and doing your own, every year we always add to it, which often puts a smile on our regulars who return year after year.

It is really great to know that here at HIDEAWAY we have the ultimate when it comes to SAFE, FRIENDLY, COMFORTABLE accommodation for all to enjoy. Yes and being so close to the main attractions just down the road is an extra BONUS.

We wish you all well , and that we can perhaps look forward to seeing you here again one day
soon.

Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
4.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
4.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing