We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived in the afternoon the room was ready for us. Greeted at the reception desk and everything was very efficent then we were told a muffing for each of us would be delivered to our room when we got settled. Everyday the room was cleaned. We were there to do adventures on a 70th persons bucket list so we were out most of the day. While being on the road in to Rotorua it is close to so many of the attractions. While we were 5 Adults staying there you could see that a family would really enjoy the animals etc that they have. The quirky sculptures in the gardens and about the property are amazing. Nothing was too much trouble organising a trip for a couple of the group to go to Hobbitsville for the day. We couldn't speak more highly of the Lodge and the people who are involved in the running of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Janet, thanks for your kind comments. Yes our sculptures, & gardens are always a sheer delight, unlike anything else really!!! The location of the property is ideal, away from all that Sulphur smell that you get in town, and so close to all the major attractions.

We look forward to your return sometime soon in the near future. Have a great 2014, Karen and Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stumbled upon this motel while looking for accommodation in Rotorua.

This is a great motel for kids with the best playground we have come across in a motel, plenty of animals and well maintained grounds.

The welcome was friendly (quite typical for NZ we found) and the accommodation very clean and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Manager at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi there Martin, thanks for the wonderful review and kind comments. We wish that you could have stayed longer too, never mind always next time. We were pleased that you and the children enjoyed all the features that the property had to offer.

Its always a pleasure seeing children running around in our playground area having a ball.

We hope to see you back sometime soon in the future. Warm regards, Karen & Lindsay...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We can definitely recommend a stay in Rotorua Hideaway Lodge. Themotel is very conveniently located - close to both the town and the highway and the apartment was very nice, clean, quiet and well-kept. Karen, the owner, was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Hans........"WOW" what a brilliant review. Glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves It was a pleasure meeting you all, and we are pleased to read that you all enjoyed everything that Rotorua Hideaway Lodge had to offer you.

We hope to see you back one day again soon, in the meantime have a great 2014. Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family group spend four memorable days for a family re-union in December 2013 . The grandchildren had lots of fun playing in the sand pit and the playground and everyone enjoyed the beautifully kept grounds, the animals and the facilities.There is no need to go out as there was plenty to do. We enjoyed being able to eat in the communal breakfast room (even though we all had self-contained units) it was really nice to be able to share our meals. Our host Karen and Lindsay we very welcoming and friendly. The units are comfortable, clean and functional, perhaps just a little dated but this does not matter as the Lodges location and surroundings more than make up for it. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lots of different room configurations, good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Piglet - "WOW".....what a great review. Glad to read that you all had a great time here at the Lodge. Yes our location is great isn't it????......as its the first Motel going into Rotorua, and so close to all the attractions. The animals and facilities that we have around the place really make it don't they???

It is really helpful to have feedback like this, as it lets us know how we are doing, so that we can adjust what and how we do things better for our guests.

We close in wishing your whole group all the best for 2014. Karen & Lindsay
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed with my 6 year old, who immediately made friends and enjoyed the playgrounds immensely. Lot's of animals around, which the kids could help to feed. Made for a relatively quite stay for myself.

Room was good, practically no noise from adjacent units.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi there Christoph T.......great to read that your 6 yr old son really enjoyed the facilities and surroundings that we have here at the lodge........ would have given you a well deserved relaxing break. We look forward in hosting you back here again some time soon. Take care Karen & Lindsay. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our children loved Hideaway Lodge for it's creative outdoor playground and friendly dogs, ponies, alpacas, sheep, chicken, etc. It made their days! Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, the kitchen well equipped and the internet connection was good. The only drawback is the location close to the main road. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our stay and found it a very good value and convenient base to explore Rotorua and surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallkidsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi guys, Thank you most kindly for the very generous review you have posted. It is not only very much appreciated, we are really pleased to know that you were really comfortable in our complex. Great to hear that you all enjoyed everything that was made available to you. Yes the animals are a great hit with the children, aren't they???

We close in wishing you all a lovely New Year. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Hideaway Lodge excels again to accommodate our group of 15pax. Rooms are clean, cosy with adequate kitchen facilities. Hosts Karen & partner have made a wonderful outdoor park for children to play and visitors to meet some lovely farm animals. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyeYim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hello Wye Yim and troops! Thank you for the lovely review....you are all fabulous people - you get 10 plus from me!!!! Looking forward to seeing you again this coming April with your new group!!! .i am so glad that you all enjoyed our beautiful country. I hope you have a safe trip home... and see you all back in April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
916 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
3 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing