We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Travelled for a Sunday wedding and found the location was near the wedding venue. Excellent rooms and cleanliness. Very friendly dog visited at night. A bit hard to leave if turning right and travelling north

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always great for us to know that all the work we put into our Motel is appreciated, so thanks again for your review. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place has a nice homemade playground that is just opposite the rooms where you can keep a watch on your children while enjoying your cup of tea. My kids (11 year old and 7 year old) enjoyed the playground very much. They also enjoyed feeding the animals. The motel is just a km from Skyline and a Kiwi wildlife park, and 15 mins drive from town. Karen was kind enough to advise us to use the clothline for our laundries; it helped us save some money on using the dryer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourgeeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the playground facilities......always a great hit with the children. Yes feeding time here is always a sheer delight with all guest.... great to read that it was very enjoyable. Thanks for the review, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had an awesome time here - our 2yr old and 6yr old loved the play area and the animals.
They got to feed the animals every evening, and hang out in the play structure and make new friends. It got this nice farm setting and is very close to town, so we could get quick supplies like milk and bread. We even had a picnic lunch at the table in the play area. Very relaxing and comfortable. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Good after noon ramya23, Thank you for giving your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found your unit in good order with everything you needed, yes the playground and animal feeding is a great hit with the children isn't it????

We are very lucky that we have plenty of space for the children to cycle & run around the complex whilst it also being safe for them to do so at the same time.

We wish you all well, and hope to see you back sometime soon. Karen & Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived here and were given a grand welcome. Karen was most helpful in matters outside the scope of the motel - much information about Rotorua and all its tourist attractions. The breakfast was good, the rooms were more than adequate and the night's rest that we dearly needed was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Seenoff......thank you for reviewing us, greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, pleasing to know that the information that I gave you....worked out well!!!.
Look forward to your return some time soon. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This motel was awesome. Great kiwiana memorabilia and fit well with our family. We had 3 under 4 and it was a great place for our 4 year old to visit the animals and have fun outside. The owners are very friendly and when you put in requests they work on it straight away,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara-Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Sara-Jane, great feedback, much appreciated. Yes the kiwana memorabilia is great here at the lodge, something that we strive for. Yes children always love our animals, and I think the animals really enjoy it too.

Yes when you have a young family its nice to know that they will be entertained for ages, gives you abit of a break really????

Have a great year Sara-Jane, and hope to see you back soon. Warm regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have been staying at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge for many years and have always enjoyed it. The setting is lovely and the amenities great. Karen is a wonderful hostess - I travel around NZ a lot and this is the only place where fresh muffins are delivered to your unit on arrival ! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Jill, thanks for the great feedback. Its always a pleasure hosting you and your dogs, every year I always look forward to it. It is so nice to see you and the dogs coming back to stay with us every year, as your dogs are just goregeous. We also love to see how you take full advantage of our complex - just as you should.

Until next year Jill - have a great year. Warm regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived in the afternoon the room was ready for us. Greeted at the reception desk and everything was very efficent then we were told a muffing for each of us would be delivered to our room when we got settled. Everyday the room was cleaned. We were there to do adventures on a 70th persons bucket list so we were out most of the day. While being on the road in to Rotorua it is close to so many of the attractions. While we were 5 Adults staying there you could see that a family would really enjoy the animals etc that they have. The quirky sculptures in the gardens and about the property are amazing. Nothing was too much trouble organising a trip for a couple of the group to go to Hobbitsville for the day. We couldn't speak more highly of the Lodge and the people who are involved in the running of the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Janet, thanks for your kind comments. Yes our sculptures, & gardens are always a sheer delight, unlike anything else really!!! The location of the property is ideal, away from all that Sulphur smell that you get in town, and so close to all the major attractions.

We look forward to your return sometime soon in the near future. Have a great 2014, Karen and Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
776 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
4.7 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing