We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the first place that we stay upon arrival at New Zealand and I must say we feel welcomed with warm reception. The reception lady offer us milk and delicious chocolate muffins and apologised that the owners were away for vacation.

My little boy was "tasked" to feed the chickens and farm animals and he was immensely pleased.

Since we were out at the attractions most of the time, we were not particularly concern about frills. However we were happy to have a friendly reception lady and friendly dogs.

Great for simple nice family stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulberry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Mulberry, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, just so sorry that we were overseas and weren't there to meet you!!!

Great to hear that the children enjoyed their time here at the lodge with all the animals.. especially at feeding time, always a great experience for them.

Look forward to your return sometime soon, Kind regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
126
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very comfortable warm family unit, enough for 4 adults and 2 small children.
Pity the weather was rainy and the children could not use the play area.
A little road noise but bearable. Location for us was great as we were visiting the National Feildays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Maureen, Thanks for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Rotorua HideawayLodge. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable and warm and that you enjoyed the super convenient location. We look forward to your return some time soon. Kind regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Was only a short visit however was a very nice place to stay.was cold, mainly because of the verge of winter however heaters in the lounge and round help emencly Not to far from any attractions or the city centre was indeed. Staff/ owner very nice

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello Stephen, Thanks for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Rotorua Hideaway. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable and warm. Great to hear that you found my Manager very nice, sorry that I wasn't here to meet you, but I had a brilliant time overseas holidaying. Look forward seeing you back some time soon. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge for 2 nights in May 2014 & was impressed to be told on arrival, "I've put the heater on in your bedroom", it was a cold & rainy weekend. My motel was spacious, clean, light & warm & it was good to see various domesticated animals in "the farm" area & a very good playground for children. Will be back

Room Tip: I stayed at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge because it was in a quiet place, free from smell of Sulphur
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello Beverley, Thank you for reviewing us after your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spacious, clean, warm unit of yours, and yes.... NO SULPHUR FUMES which is even better. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this place for families especially if you have young ones. I'm not usually a fan of budget accommodation but I was pleasantly surprised here. Our room was basic, clean, warm on arrival (it was freezing in Rotorua when we arrived so it was really nice to walk into a pre warmed room) it had a well appointed kitchenette for all necessary cooking. The location is great, close to town and near the attractions. The playground in front of the rooms is Amazing! My 2 boys loved exploring the tubes, patting the animals, playing golf, flying fox and riding the rocket bath! This lodge alone added so much more enjoyment to our holiday. We will definitely go back again! Thank you to the lovely hosts for creating such a neat family friendly place :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Cheboo, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at Rotorua Hideaway. We are pleased that you all enjoyed the lodge and its surroundings, especially the playground. Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of our rooms, location and the pre-warmed unit of yours. We would look forward to welcoming you all back again sometime soon. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here two nights, with 3 adults and 2 children in early May. Clean and tidy rooms , free of sulphur fumes, our children very enjoyed the playground and fed the animals ! Good location very close to Skyline and a Kiwi wildlife park, we will come back again! Recommended to all !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello sue Y, great to read that every one enjoyed themselves. Yes we are sulphur FREE, which is a bonus when visiting beautiful Rotorua. I also think that the animals enjoyed you all as well, I know my dogs did. Anyway take care, and hope to see you back some time soon....Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland - Nuova Zelanda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Recommended Recommended Recommended
Friendly, clean, with everything you need for a relaxing holiday
We have two girls 5 and 7 yo. They enjoyed the playground so much!
Central, with all Rotorua's attractions very close
Again, if in doubt. Go for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank corradinocorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Corradinocoda, thanks for the feedback.... much appreciated. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed spending time at our lodge, especially in the surroundings, and activities that we provide for the children. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Karen & Lindsay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.8 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing