We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had such a lovely relaxing time staying at the Cedarwood and it is top of our list when choosing somewhere to stay in Rotorua on a family trip. The setting is beautiful right on the lake edge and you cannot fault the friendly welcome, cleanliness and facilities. Whether enjoying a coffee by the lake watching the sun rise, swapping between splashing around in the gorgeous outdoor pool and sinking into the luxurious spa pool or sitting by the BBQ watching the kids at play it is a great place to be. Thank you Cedarwood. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewO832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Matthew0832, thank you for taking the time to review us after your stay recently. We are glad that you and your family enjoy what Cedarwood has to offer and we are glad that we are top of your list for places to stay in Rotorua! We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    68
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
141
77
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Cedarwood was the perfect spot for us to hold our Family Reunion. All the units are lovely and clean and each one has a slightly individual layout etc. Fiona & Nick took great care to have us all situated together on one wing of their property, which enabled us to pop between units and have little visits without overpowering other guests who were staying here. The view of Lake Rotorua from unit 8 is just amazing, but all units were just lovely. All of us (and there was about 25 of us staying, plus we had many family visitors who joined us for meals etc in The Conference Centre, which has absolutely everything you could possible need for a social occasion such as this) said they would definitely stay at Cedarwood again when in Rotorua.
Fiona made organizing this occasion so easy and her & her husband Nick were wonderful hosts while we were there, nothing was an effort for them to make our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Sue S. thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent family reunion, it was great to meet all the family and we are glad that they all enjoyed themselves. Yes, the Conference Centre is an ideal venue for the family to get together and provides a meeting place for meals and congregating which allows everyone to be together. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Comfort, cleanliness, service, spaciousness, almost mystical view across fog-shrouded lake upon our arrival -- all in all, a wonderful first stop on our trip to New Zealand. We had number 8, with marvelous view worth the extra dollars. Coffee makers haven't made it to NZ yet apparently (instant coffee seems preferred breakfast table offering -- I know, odd for a country with some of the best coffee shops in the world), but Cedarwood supplies coffee press and one packet of coffee, so might want to pick up some ground coffee shortly before or after checking in. Fiona checked us in, and when we had questions about whether we could combine Rainbow Springs (kiwi!!!!) with our already-booked trip to Maori event, she not only knew answer but picked up phone and arranged the extra booking on the spot. We stayed at some really fine places during our trip, but this was my personal fave. Thank you, Fiona and Nick!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolemnSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi SolemnSojourner, Wow, thank you for your fantastic review of Cedarwood! We are so pleased that we were your personal favourite after your stay in New Zealand and we trust you enjoyed everything that Rotorua has on offer. You had one of our Lakefront Units which have great views across the lake and yes it can look mystical on some days with some great sunsets at night too. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback on us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to NZ! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Honore de Chicoutimi, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was a combined business/pleasure trip. We stayed a total of five weeks (3 + 2 weeks) and we really felt that this was our "home away from home". Nice and comfortable cottages in a nice setting, on the lake, with a nice pool and hot spa... Also a very quiet and relaxing place, but still very close to Rotorua. Nick and Fiona were always there to help if we needed something, they even lent us an icebox when we were travelling for 2 weeks between our 2 stays!

We will definitely stay there on our next trip to the Rotorua region.

Diane and Daniel, Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_Daniel_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi Diane & Daniel,

We are pleased to see that you have made it home safe & sound! Thank you for taking the time to review us, it was great having you stay with us for your recent business/pleasure trip. It was nice to hear that you considered us your "home away from home" and we are happy that you got to experience Rotorua and other parts of NZ on your travels. Take care, best wishes & we look forward to seeing you both again on your next travels to NZ!

Regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We wanted to stay outside of the main touristy spots in Rotorua and this place was perfect. A short drive from the city centre and we really felt like we got away from it all. The view of the lake was amazing, the barbecue was great, as was the pool and spa. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. The hosts were good and provided excellent advice on what to see and do. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi VickiMelbourne,

Thank you for reviewing us after your recent stay with us at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are pleased that you found your room comfortable and well equipped and that you made use of the facilities that we have on offer. Its great to hear that you would recommend us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next holiday to NZ & Rotorua! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed for four nights and were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The cabins were immaculate and had everything you needed and more. There was a lockable bike shed for the bikes, a boat park and a large choice of free DVD's to cater for everyone. It was nice to be away from the main centre of town and close by the lovely lakes surrounding Rotorua. We would certainly return for another relaxing break away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi Rachel K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent break away with us at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you got to experience the lovely lakes that Rotorua has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The location is perfect, the hosts are superb and the facilities are excellent. The only thing we regret is that we discovered the local outdoor spa too late. Bathing with the lake view was awesome, free and heaps better than in Polynesian spa (don't spend money on that). We were travelling with 1yo baby and hadn't had any problem there.

Room Tip: The closer to the Rotorua lake - the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi Andrey B,
Thanks so much for your awesome review of your recent stay with us at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and made use of the facilities we have here. We look forward to meeting you all again in the near future. Best Regards to the family, Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
3.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Property: Cedarwood Lakeside
Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing