We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We thought we were out of luck. The tourist booth had a couple of suggestions that didn't pan out; they were actually not very helpful. One of the places with No Vacancy pointed us to Cedarwood, and we loved it! Nick & Fiona were very helpful, knowledgeable hosts, committed to helping us enjoy our vacation.
Our two bedroom suite was clean and roomy, the location ideal, well away from traffic noise. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Jim A, We are glad that you found us too! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort. It is pleasing to hear that you found our units clean and roomy, our two bedroom units certainly are spacious. We are very lucky being situated down a quiet residential street away from the town hence we do not attract the road noise as some other properties do in the city centre. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rotorua. Take care Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Cedarwood. We were lucky enough to be in one of the lakeside apartments for a few nights and it was just gorgeous - quiet, tastefully decorated, complete with all the modern conveniences. The owners/managers were wonderfully helpful, warm and patient. We left behind a treasured soft toy and they were kind enough to send it on to another hotel in the South Island - so appreciated! They also provided great advice, when asked, about things to see and do, and thanks to them, we were able to see and discover more than we had originally planned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhwordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Jhwordsmith, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent experience at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in our Lakefront Units, these are always so popular with their views directly over the lake. It was good that we were able to locate the treasured soft toy and on-forward to you, we trust the little one is more settled now that it is back with them :). Yes, Rotorua certainly does have plenty to see and do so a minimum 3 night stay like you planned is ideal however there is still alot more to discover! Best wishes and we will see you next time that you are in Rotorua. Regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed three nights at Cedarwood. We had a 2 bedroom unit, very clean and well appointed. We arrived on a lovely summer day, lake views were stunning. Resort doesn't suffer the same sulphur smells often found close to town. Resort caters for couples or families alike. Hosts are lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Lakefront studios perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hello Gavatar, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. We are lucky being the short distance from the city centre that we do not suffer the same sulphur smells as found in town so suitable for the young one you had travelling with you. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast too and see you when you next visit Rotorua! Thank you Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my second visit to Cedarwood. I stayed in a studio unit 2 years ago, and this time chose a larger (2 bedroom) unit. The quiet location by the lake, well away from traffic noise is a major plus. I didn't even hear a tour group arrive late at night - they were very well behaved! The unit was large, clean, well appointed, and reasonably priced. The heated pool saw lots of me, and trout fly were pleasantly absent. I will definitely stay here again on any trips to Rotorua.

Tony Stephenson

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms are the pick of the resort - more expensive but a great view over Lake Rotorua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Tony S, We were delighted to host you on your return visit, yes our two bedroom units are spacious and thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness. The pool is a summer favourite for our guests so we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We only stayed one night at Cedarwood, but we wished we had spent more time. Our room was lovely and large. Extremely clean and well equipped. Comfortable bed. Quiet location with beautiful view of the lake. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Nice pool and hot tub too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi JulianneT, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us, yes you will definitely need to stay longer next time as there is so much to see and do in Rotorua aswell as taking time to relax at our property and enjoy the surroundings & facilities. Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness & amenities in your unit and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit! Regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A clean, comfortable and very pleasant stay at Cederwood. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment was in good order with everything that we needed. Only disappointment was that the jacuzzi in the pool area was not fully working. A good place to saty as abase for the attractions in the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V8-MGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi V8-MGer, Thank you for giving your feedback on your recent stay with us, we are pleased that you found your unit in good order with everything you needed, in regards to the outdoor spa, it is still in good working order however just not all of the jets are operational as it unfortunately has a major leak and we have had to temporarily shut down some of the jets to reduce the water leakage, this decision was made rather than closing the entire spa down for an indefinite period during our busy summer period, the work is scheduled to take place in the near future so fingers crossed all jets will be fully operational in the not too distant future. Thank you Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A perfect holiday, we had 2 two bed units opposite the playground. The units were well equiped and clean. Our 4 year old loved the playground and we could see her from the unit, also being able to cycle and scooter round the park is really good. The swimming pool and spa were lovely after a day out and having separate towels for this made life easy. Overall a lovely place to stay and would definately return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi jenjonhol, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are pleased that you had a "Great Holiday" with us, we are very lucky that we have plenty of space for the children to scooter & cycle around the complex whilst it also being safe for them to do so. We provide the pool towels free of charge specifically for the pool & spa and this make it so much easier for guests in that they do not have to travel with pool towels themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rotorua and Cedarwood on your next visit. Thank you Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing