We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The motel is located around ten minutes outside of Rotorua, but is a world away for the busy town centre.
We had an end two bedroom unit with a deck overlooking Lake Rotorua, across grass bank.
It was so peaceful we actually spent a little more time at the motel than normal just enjoying the view.
The unit itself was well equiped, and we would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Shaz-n-Dave32, Thanks for your great review of Cedarwood, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed spending more time here being able to enjoy the view and surroundings! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    71
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
150
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We recently stayed at Cedarwood during a visit from our family. The units had adequate room in the lounge/dining area to accommodate children's activities. There is a solar heated pool and a spa as well as a large trampoline allowing for release of energy after a day spent sightseeing. I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom in particular. Kitchen area was equipped with microwave and electric frypan as well as a stove. Rotorua city is only five minutes away and there are a good range of takeaway and supermarket outlets in the vicinity. The property borders the lake and is clear of the major highway making for a quiet neighbourhood. The basic allocation of Wifi data was more than I could use in our three days stay. I would certainly stay there again, even if I did not have the children to accommodate and consider.

Room Tip: The lakeside units are great, but are more expensive. Probably not relevant if you are planning to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Lyn134, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Cedarwood. Yes, we certainly enjoy the tranquility of our location, it is nice being a short distance from town which makes you feel like you are on holiday and we do still have eateries etc close by if need be. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood again on your next trip to Rotorua. Thanks again Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights including the weekend when cyclone Lusi blew through the North Island. Our Lakefront two bedroom unit was large, well equiped, clean and had marvellous view across lake Rotorua to Mokoia Island.

The resort is located a few kilometres north of Rotorua just of SH30 in a quite road right on the lakeside, a lovely tranquil setting.

The owners, Nick and Fiona, were very helpful in giving advice on the area and helping to decide which tours to do, they also booked one tour for us.

When we returned to our cabin on the Friday night we found a note from Nick & Fiona informing us about the impending Cyclone Lusi and instructions on what to do in an emergency and also a torch. Luckily by the time Lusi reached us on Saturday/Sunday it had blown itself out somewhat and no damage was done to the resort.

We enjoyed our time at Cedarwood and would recommend a stay if you don't need to be in the centre of Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi 5tings, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us in April. Our lakefront units are definitely popular and do have fantastic views cross the lake. We are only too pleased to help guests look at and book tours as there are so many great things to see and do here in Rotorua and deciding can be a challenge!. We certainly were not sure of what Cyclone Lusi was capable off but heeded the warnings and so too advised our guests accordingly, thank goodness as you say, nothing much eventuated! Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again if and when you are back in Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The accommodations, location and amenities are excellent at this motel. The swimming pool and outdoor spa, plus capacious picnic tables and communal BBQ's made al fresco dining and fun easy.
The sweet air and lovely sunset views over the lake are delightful. A car is useful for reaching the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Irwi, Thank you for your great review of Cedarwood, we are pleased that you enjoyed the outdoor areas of the complex, we like to ensure that there is plenty of space as far as BBQ tables etc for all our guests to enjoy. It is handy to have a vehicle with us being a short distance to town however there are very good shuttle companies too that can take you to various attractions whilst staying with us if guests do not feel like driving, we are happy to arrange on guests behalf if required. Thanks again Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

These wooden studios are peacefully located right on Lake Rotorua. Ours was comfortable and had more than adequate facilities with a very comfortable king sized bed. The kitchen and bathroom are a little tired but very clean and well equipped.
We made use of the laundry facilities (at a $2 dollar charge) with outdoor drying space, the heated spa pool and complimentary wi-fi. Our only contact with the owners / managers was when checking us in and handing back the keys during which they were friendly enough.
Would certainly recommend - particularly the lovely, lakeside location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Richard196511, Thanks for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Cedarwood. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable. In respect of the bathroom & kitchen, our maintenance schedule actually has us upgrading a couple of bathrooms as we speak, these are obviously ongoing to ensure that we maintain a level of comfort and modernisation for our guests however unfortunately it is unpractical to be able to do all at once. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this hotel. We liked the fact that this hotel was a short ways out of town (away from the smell and congestion of Rotorua) and right on the lake. Our room was spotless and quiet. Nick and Fiona were terrific hosts; Nick was especially helpful in
assisting us w/ some phone/internet problems we were experiencing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Bruce C,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Cedarwood. As you say it is great that we are away from the congestion of Rotorua and we are quite lucky that we do not suffer the sulphur smell all that much with being by the lake. Nick was only too happy to assist with your phone/internet issues and we were pleased that we were able to help resolve them. We look forward to seeing you both again on your return visit to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this motel, and we were very impressed. Our unit was modern and fresh, very clean, and spacious enough that we didn't feel cramped. The people running the motel, Nick and Fiona, were lovely and friendly people who made us feel welcome the moment we stepped in to the office. The place itself was very tranquil and quiet, and the lake just topped it all off. Was nice to wake up and step outside and see the lake just a few steps away. Will definitely be staying there again, and would highly recommend this place to others.. 10/10

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Bernadette S,
Thank you very much for providing your feedback after your stay at Cedarwood Lakeside! We take great pleasure in hearing that our guests find our property clean & spacious and we are very lucky to have such a great spot by the lake which is quiet & tranquil for everyone to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Property: Cedarwood Lakeside
Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing