We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and scenic”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Spacious and scenic”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked into a two bedroom unit with friends for three nights. The units are clean and of good size for a motel. This is obviously a good place for families as there were children enjoying the trampoline, pool and Spa and also cycling around the spacious grounds. The main attraction for us was the proximity to the lake and the lakeside walk. One observation is that the units numbered 1 to 7 were mainly in the shade throughout the day whereas 9 upwards had sunshine into the rooms. Units 8 and 9 are obvious first choice being on the lake end of the blocks and having panoramic views of the lake. For two couples they also work out to be good value. We cooked in the unit one night and thought the range of utensils a little limited. Also the couch/bed was a little uncomfortable with three adults sitting on it. Having said all that it is definitely a good place to stay and we would have no hesitation in booking again
We ate one night at the Qwang Chow Buffet house in the shopping centre up the main road, Good value for money and was obviously popular.

Room Tip: units 8 and 9 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi KiwiJohn01, Thank you for your recent review after your stay at Cedarwood. We are glad that you found our Motel clean and spacious. With plenty of outdoor space it certainly is a good choice for families. It is great that you enjoyed the lakeside walk. As you did not mention the limited range of kitchen utensils upon your departure please feel free to email us and let us know your thoughts here so we can review for the comfort of our future guests. Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you all at Cedarwood again. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    73
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
152
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having our wedding at cedarwood was great, all our family came from out of town and we were able to all stay together for the weekend. Nick and Fiona were lovely hosts and were helpful before and during our special day. I would highly recommend Cedarwood, if your looking for a wedding venue that ticks all the box's then take a look. The ground were great for the photo's and having Lake Rotorua as a backdrop was beautiful. The pool was excellent for the kids, the spa was perfect for the pre wedding stress release.The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We will be back on our anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 331Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi 331Kevin, Thanks for sharing your feedback and your special day with us at Cedarwood! Our Conference Centre is the perfect little intimate venue for those very special occasions and we were pleased that you chose to celebrate your day here. Glad to hear you took advantage of 'soaking your bones' and enjoying some pre-wedding stress relief in the outdoor spa area! We look forward to seeing you both on your anniversary in 2015! Take care & best wishes for your future together. Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The motel is located around ten minutes outside of Rotorua, but is a world away for the busy town centre.
We had an end two bedroom unit with a deck overlooking Lake Rotorua, across grass bank.
It was so peaceful we actually spent a little more time at the motel than normal just enjoying the view.
The unit itself was well equiped, and we would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Shaz-n-Dave32, Thanks for your great review of Cedarwood, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed spending more time here being able to enjoy the view and surroundings! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We recently stayed at Cedarwood during a visit from our family. The units had adequate room in the lounge/dining area to accommodate children's activities. There is a solar heated pool and a spa as well as a large trampoline allowing for release of energy after a day spent sightseeing. I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom in particular. Kitchen area was equipped with microwave and electric frypan as well as a stove. Rotorua city is only five minutes away and there are a good range of takeaway and supermarket outlets in the vicinity. The property borders the lake and is clear of the major highway making for a quiet neighbourhood. The basic allocation of Wifi data was more than I could use in our three days stay. I would certainly stay there again, even if I did not have the children to accommodate and consider.

Room Tip: The lakeside units are great, but are more expensive. Probably not relevant if you are planning to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Lyn134, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Cedarwood. Yes, we certainly enjoy the tranquility of our location, it is nice being a short distance from town which makes you feel like you are on holiday and we do still have eateries etc close by if need be. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood again on your next trip to Rotorua. Thanks again Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights including the weekend when cyclone Lusi blew through the North Island. Our Lakefront two bedroom unit was large, well equiped, clean and had marvellous view across lake Rotorua to Mokoia Island.

The resort is located a few kilometres north of Rotorua just of SH30 in a quite road right on the lakeside, a lovely tranquil setting.

The owners, Nick and Fiona, were very helpful in giving advice on the area and helping to decide which tours to do, they also booked one tour for us.

When we returned to our cabin on the Friday night we found a note from Nick & Fiona informing us about the impending Cyclone Lusi and instructions on what to do in an emergency and also a torch. Luckily by the time Lusi reached us on Saturday/Sunday it had blown itself out somewhat and no damage was done to the resort.

We enjoyed our time at Cedarwood and would recommend a stay if you don't need to be in the centre of Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi 5tings, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us in April. Our lakefront units are definitely popular and do have fantastic views cross the lake. We are only too pleased to help guests look at and book tours as there are so many great things to see and do here in Rotorua and deciding can be a challenge!. We certainly were not sure of what Cyclone Lusi was capable off but heeded the warnings and so too advised our guests accordingly, thank goodness as you say, nothing much eventuated! Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again if and when you are back in Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The accommodations, location and amenities are excellent at this motel. The swimming pool and outdoor spa, plus capacious picnic tables and communal BBQ's made al fresco dining and fun easy.
The sweet air and lovely sunset views over the lake are delightful. A car is useful for reaching the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Irwi, Thank you for your great review of Cedarwood, we are pleased that you enjoyed the outdoor areas of the complex, we like to ensure that there is plenty of space as far as BBQ tables etc for all our guests to enjoy. It is handy to have a vehicle with us being a short distance to town however there are very good shuttle companies too that can take you to various attractions whilst staying with us if guests do not feel like driving, we are happy to arrange on guests behalf if required. Thanks again Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

These wooden studios are peacefully located right on Lake Rotorua. Ours was comfortable and had more than adequate facilities with a very comfortable king sized bed. The kitchen and bathroom are a little tired but very clean and well equipped.
We made use of the laundry facilities (at a $2 dollar charge) with outdoor drying space, the heated spa pool and complimentary wi-fi. Our only contact with the owners / managers was when checking us in and handing back the keys during which they were friendly enough.
Would certainly recommend - particularly the lovely, lakeside location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Richard196511, Thanks for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Cedarwood. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable. In respect of the bathroom & kitchen, our maintenance schedule actually has us upgrading a couple of bathrooms as we speak, these are obviously ongoing to ensure that we maintain a level of comfort and modernisation for our guests however unfortunately it is unpractical to be able to do all at once. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Property: Cedarwood Lakeside
Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing