We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedarwood Lakeside
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,073
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
229
90
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
90
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrout fliesconference roomlake rotoruabedroom unitswimming pool and spalake edgean easy drivepeaceful locationstayed nightsfew minutes driveself cateringgreat accommodationlaundry facilitiesdefinitely stay here againa great place to staygreat hostsnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The cottages are on the lake front and the view of the lake is awesome. Lake Rotorua however is not a fresh water lake so the water looks milky and at times even colorful because of the topography of Rotorua. One can see ducks swimming in the lake and walking up to the cottage all the time, which is nice. There are however small insects which makes sitting by the lake less pleasant.

The motel is way out of town, which makes it a little lonely but it also means it smells less of sulfur. There is no good place to eat around the motel except a McDonald. There is a restaurant next door in the Wai Ora Lakeside Resort where we had dinner one evening. We found the food both pricy and lousy.

The motel’s insulation and heating is poor and made our stay in winter very uncomfortable and the people in the motel are not very responsive to the issues. It is also very frugal in terms of toiletries and tea/coffee arrangements. The television has 5 channels which makes it very boring for kids but there are DVDs available for free.

Not a motel I would recommend since it has nothing other than location to offer.

Rotorua is a geological wonderland and a must visit. The place can however get very foggy and flights are cancelled rondomly.

Room Tip: Ask for lske facing rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suvabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Wow, for the benefit of our future readers, I would like to set the record straight with your recent visit. When your reservation was originally made via a Travel Agent (who subsequently cancelled your bookings as they could no longer work with you), you were made well aware that we were an 8 minute drive from the centre of the city and a distance from the attractions as we knew you were not intending to hire a car, however you continued to make a booking directly with us. We did recommend that you may want to look at alternate accommodation closer to what activities you wanted to do however you did not look into this.
Your correspondence with us via email prior to your arrival indicated that you had not researched much about Rotorua and what there was to do here, we had furnished you with a number of emails advising what you could do to ensure your time with us was enjoyable.
Lake Rotorua is a fresh water lake, it appeared milky only due to the fact that we have had unsettled weather recently. The only insects we have are called a Lake Fly and were not present at the time of your stay, they are occasionally around in our summer months. Our units are adequately insulated and have the appropriate heating (and electric blankets) for the size of the unit. We believe we are extremely responsive to any issues or concerns as I am sure our previous reviews indicate, however your request for additional heating was only declined for safety reasons. We provide complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee, sugar and plunger coffee, these are restocked daily and we were only too happy to provide you more when you came to reception and asked for them.
We actually have 5 Sky TV channels and numerous free to air TV channels all of which were on the written instructions in the room and which was shown to your family.
Unfortunately you fail to acknowledge the service we did provide you in terms of providing you with numerous options for your day trips, bus timetables, information on restaurants, printing of various flight boarding passes, bus tickets and so on.
By the way, as we sign off it would be appreciated if you could return the travel adapter that we gladly lent you during your stay with us, this was not yours to remove from our premises. Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wow, what a find...hidden away down a very quiet residential street right on the edge of Lake Rotorua (Holdens Bay), yet only a quick 5-7minute drive to Fenton Street or city centre.
Have just spent three nights here in a 2 bedroom unit, exceptionally clean and tidy, well appointed and great views of the lake (even though this wasn't one of 2 prime lake front units).
The check in and out host was very lovely and most welcoming and helpful, thank you!.
Very spacious grounds, my 5yr nephew loved running around the grounds, playing on the playground, the out door spa (and an indoor one) and liked playing on the lake edge (bring your bucket and spade!).
Being away from the usual Fenton Street motels, this place is so quiet and private you wouldn't believe you were so near the city. There is a McDonalds about a minute drive away, a good Chinese takeaway a couple minutes away... you are still very close to everything Rotorua has to offer.
This is an excellent family friendly place to stay and has all you would need for a comfortable stay at a great price.
Now that we have found this place, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Todd M, Thank you for your fantastic review of Cedarwood after your recent stay and sorry we were not here during your visit however thank you for acknowledging our hosts who were minding for us whilst we took a short break! It is great to hear your nephew enjoyed the spacious grounds and pools. It is great to have some eateries close by however equally easy to get back into town a short distance away for the many restaurants Rotorua has on offer. We do look forward to seeing you all back again on your next trip to Rotorua! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Cedarwood Lakeside for three nights with our three children Our unit was perfect for us. It had plenty of room, and it was lovely and clean with all the things we needed. The kids loved the pool and the playground and we all loved the outdoor spa overlooking the grounds and the lake. It was great having extra towels for swimming and using the spa. Our hosts were more than helpful and booked a few of the tourist attractions for us. It was lovely and quiet, away from the hussle and bussle of town yet not far from any of the activities we wanted to do. Overall great place to stay with a family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi PamTB, Thank you for reviewing us after your recent stay, we are pleased that you all enjoyed the pool and spa! We are lucky to be down a residential street so we do not have any of the road noise that you would typically expect making it a very quiet, tranquil location. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked into a two bedroom unit with friends for three nights. The units are clean and of good size for a motel. This is obviously a good place for families as there were children enjoying the trampoline, pool and Spa and also cycling around the spacious grounds. The main attraction for us was the proximity to the lake and the lakeside walk. One observation is that the units numbered 1 to 7 were mainly in the shade throughout the day whereas 9 upwards had sunshine into the rooms. Units 8 and 9 are obvious first choice being on the lake end of the blocks and having panoramic views of the lake. For two couples they also work out to be good value. We cooked in the unit one night and thought the range of utensils a little limited. Also the couch/bed was a little uncomfortable with three adults sitting on it. Having said all that it is definitely a good place to stay and we would have no hesitation in booking again
We ate one night at the Qwang Chow Buffet house in the shopping centre up the main road, Good value for money and was obviously popular.

Room Tip: units 8 and 9 have best views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi KiwiJohn01, Thank you for your recent review after your stay at Cedarwood. We are glad that you found our Motel clean and spacious. With plenty of outdoor space it certainly is a good choice for families. It is great that you enjoyed the lakeside walk. As you did not mention the limited range of kitchen utensils upon your departure please feel free to email us and let us know your thoughts here so we can review for the comfort of our future guests. Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you all at Cedarwood again. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having our wedding at cedarwood was great, all our family came from out of town and we were able to all stay together for the weekend. Nick and Fiona were lovely hosts and were helpful before and during our special day. I would highly recommend Cedarwood, if your looking for a wedding venue that ticks all the box's then take a look. The ground were great for the photo's and having Lake Rotorua as a backdrop was beautiful. The pool was excellent for the kids, the spa was perfect for the pre wedding stress release.The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We will be back on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 331Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi 331Kevin, Thanks for sharing your feedback and your special day with us at Cedarwood! Our Conference Centre is the perfect little intimate venue for those very special occasions and we were pleased that you chose to celebrate your day here. Glad to hear you took advantage of 'soaking your bones' and enjoying some pre-wedding stress relief in the outdoor spa area! We look forward to seeing you both on your anniversary in 2015! Take care & best wishes for your future together. Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews