We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedarwood Lakeside
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$662
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
229
89
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
89
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrout fliesconference roomlake rotoruabedroom unitswimming pool and spalake edgean easy drivepeaceful locationstayed nightsfew minutes driveself cateringgreat accommodationlaundry facilitiesdefinitely stay here againa great place to staygreat hostsnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lovely weekend break at Cedarwood.
Beautiful and stunning location, friendly helpful hosts, great well furnished rooms.
No complaints here. More than happy to recommend. We will be back. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MooMoo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Mike and Karen N, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of Cedarwood, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to fellow travellers. Thanks you and see you again when you are next in Rotorua. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a fantastic long weekend at Cedarwood. Our children loved the pools, despite the cold and rain, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was also nice to be away from the city centre - Cedarwood is very quiet and relaxing spot - but still an easy drive to town and all the local attractions. It must be wonderful in the summer - we are hoping to go back then and enjoy the lake in warmer weather. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippa12398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Philippa12398, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Cedarwood. We are glad to hear that the children enjoyed the pools despite the weather! Cedarwood is certainly a great place in the summer with swimming in the pools or even swimming in the lake so we look forward to your next visit where hopefully the sun will be shining! Thanks again. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just spent a great week at Cedarwood. This was our second visit and we made full use of the spa and pool and our boys enjoyed the room to run around on site and along the lake edge. All staff friendly and helpful. A peaceful and quiet spot, with a short drive to all the attractions of Rotorua, highly recommended. Mike

Room Tip: The rooms facing the end rooms on each block facing the lake are worth the extra charge, great views and all day sun!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandtracey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Mikeandtracey2014, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Cedarwood, we are pleased that you made this your second trip! As you say, we are certainly lucky having plenty of space for the active kids to enjoy with the added benefit of the swimming pool and spa, thank you for recommending us and see you on your next visit to Rotorua! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We arrived at dusk on a cold, winter's night to find that the good hosts had already put the heater on. Nice touch. Friendly people, beautiful spot on the lake. Sure, it's a wee drive into town, but more than adequate place to rest. Quiet, peaceful. Value for money. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi MikeyJas, Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay with us & thank you for acknowledging the warm unit upon your arrival! We are pleased that you enjoyed our quiet, peaceful location and that you would stay with us again, so we do look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just had a fantastic weekend at the Cedarwood Motel for a family reunion of 42 family members. We had family flying in from Christchurch, Nelson, Blenheim, Wellington and then those of us that travelled by road from Auckland, Whakatane and Gisborne. The location is excellent - just 5 minutes from the airport. It is ideally situated for the family members requiring an adrenalin fix in the Redwoods and for those of us satisfied with a more sedate walk in the same forest on different trails.
The amenities at the motel suited our large gathering as they have a conference room whereby we catered for ourselves for dinner and breakfast. This also provided a casual venue to relax and chat with everyone.
The rooms are a generous size for families and the vista across the lake is beautiful. Nothing but positive feedback from all the family members.
The management team of Fiona and Nick were extremely helpful in the organising of this event.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank bellvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi bellvine,
Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your recent experience here at Cedarwood, we were happy to hear that all of your family enjoyed their time with us at your reunion. We are certainly lucky to have the great Redwood Forest literally on our doorstep, which is superb for biking and the quiet walks too! We are pleased that you found our units a generous size and the added feature of the Conference Centre certainly does assist with group gatherings. Once again thank you for choosing Cedarwood for your reunion and we look forward to welcoming family members back in the near future. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews