We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and accommodation”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights and couldn't have been more delighted with the peaceful setting by the side of the lake. Fiona and Nick are to be congratulated on their friendly and cheerful service and the lovely landscaped grounds. The accommodation was very clean and well maintained and very well equipped, couldn't have asked for more!
Sadly we didn't have enough time to use the pool or the spa but we certainly will the next time we visit and have already recommended it to family with young children as the children's playground looked safe and well planned.
Thank you Fiona and Nick, will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Patricia W, Thank you for your kind words about your recent experience with us at Cedarwood! We are pleased that you found our accommodation clean and comfortable and that you have already recommended us to your family! We both look forward to welcoming you back to Rotorua and Cedarwood and hopefully you have time on your next visit to enjoy the spa & pool! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for the weekend. The location was great, close enough to the city but far enough away to be peaceful. Beautiful lakeside views.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were fun, friendly and very helpful. Conference venue was more than adequate for the small event we had held there. Outdoor pool looked very inviting and had it been the middle of summer would no doubt have made extensive use of it.
Highly recommended.

Bruce & Erin

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Bruce & Erin, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you found our units clean and comfortable and that the Conference Venue suited the event you were attending! Yes, the pool is a popular one during summer so we look forward to seeing you back when you can enjoy it fully, thank you for recommending us too! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed four nights in the lake-front 2 bedroom suite...perfect in every way! Peaceful, beautifully landscaped, and well maintained property. Easy parking next to room. Lake views were spectacular at all times of day. Enjoyed morning and evening walks along the lake. Kids loved the trampolines and hot tub. I appreciated the laundry facilities. Owners were courteous and friendly and provided useful information about the area and local activities. Unit was stocked with everything we needed. Also enjoyed free borrow of a DVD. Whenever I'm in Rotorua, this is my first choice of accommodations.

Room Tip: Property is lakeside, so all rooms have easy access...but I am so glad I upgraded to one of the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V_R_and_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi V_R_and_M, Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us, we are glad that you enjoyed all the aspects of our property and that you got to experience our Lakefront Unit! Hopefully we will see you all again on your next travels down under! Take care Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had our 2 day National Family Support training here in July. The conference facilities were perfect for our group of 20 attendees. The separate room for food & refreshments is a real benefit and can be used as a breakout room as well. Nick & Fiona were great, everything was organized well, facilities and amenities spot on. Everything clean, well presented, and totally arranged for our requirements. Feedback from the staff attending was all great, they loved the quiet, lakeside setting and relaxed atmosphere. Most staff shared a 2BDRM unit, and feedback was all positive. Barb Richardson Child Cancer Foundation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Barb, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent Conference with us at Cedarwood, we are delighted to hear that you found our facilities of benefit to your group and that your attendees enjoyed our quiet, peaceful location. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you all back for your next Training event. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lovely weekend break at Cedarwood.
Beautiful and stunning location, friendly helpful hosts, great well furnished rooms.
No complaints here. More than happy to recommend. We will be back. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MooMoo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Mike and Karen N, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of Cedarwood, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to fellow travellers. Thanks you and see you again when you are next in Rotorua. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a fantastic long weekend at Cedarwood. Our children loved the pools, despite the cold and rain, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was also nice to be away from the city centre - Cedarwood is very quiet and relaxing spot - but still an easy drive to town and all the local attractions. It must be wonderful in the summer - we are hoping to go back then and enjoy the lake in warmer weather. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippa12398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Philippa12398, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Cedarwood. We are glad to hear that the children enjoyed the pools despite the weather! Cedarwood is certainly a great place in the summer with swimming in the pools or even swimming in the lake so we look forward to your next visit where hopefully the sun will be shining! Thanks again. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just spent a great week at Cedarwood. This was our second visit and we made full use of the spa and pool and our boys enjoyed the room to run around on site and along the lake edge. All staff friendly and helpful. A peaceful and quiet spot, with a short drive to all the attractions of Rotorua, highly recommended. Mike

Room Tip: The rooms facing the end rooms on each block facing the lake are worth the extra charge, great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandtracey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Mikeandtracey2014, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Cedarwood, we are pleased that you made this your second trip! As you say, we are certainly lucky having plenty of space for the active kids to enjoy with the added benefit of the swimming pool and spa, thank you for recommending us and see you on your next visit to Rotorua! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing