We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, helpful staff”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice, helpful staff”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We only stayed the one night after arriving from Australia in the early hours of the morning. The room was spacious and provided what we needed. Pick up from the airport went well and being able to check out at 11am was much appreciated so overall we had a very pleasant stay. Would recommend to others and book again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recycled-rockandroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
139
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our group booked a family room and although our stay was short, our hosts provided plenty of information on activities, places to eat, and see. Great of them to offer coupons on some of our intended activities! In short, accommodations were clean, spacious, and would certainly recommend them.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldives
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Bella Vista for almost two weeks while my father was in ICU in Rotorua hospital.

Kevin and Sue was so helpful and thoughful during our stay, assisting us in any way possible and never failing to ask about my fathers health.

The rooms are extremely clean and very well equipped. We stayed in double, triple and family rooms during the time and were impressed by all. The location is great, very close to the town centre and right near a lovely park with steam and hot pools.

I would recommend this motel to anyone from tourists to families and for business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

After a long days drive from Auckland (detouring through Hobbiton), we hadn't booked a hotel for the night so were hoping to find something fairly easily. When we got to the hotel, we were greeted by Sue and Kevin who are by far some of the most helpful people I've met in the hospitality industry. Kevin showed me to a couple of different rooms, offered us a great rate and was so helpful with information on local attractions.
The room was very clean and tidy, had everything we needed for the night - and a good hot shower! Going back into reception to get some brochures on the hot spas, Sue was kind enough to lend us spare towels to take with - saving us the $5 hire fee at the Spa.
The motel also has a small laundry - just what we needed after a week of travelling - and soap is purchased from reception.
After the hot spa - $27 per person for a private spa overlooking Lake Rotorua - we had dinner at the buffet restaurant Valentines, in the city.
In the morning after checking out, we stopped at the bakery across the road - best chicken and veg pie I've had in a while - then took a walk through Kuirau Park before driving to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland.. and using our discount vouchers we received at the Motel!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Rotorua and can't thank Sue and Kevin enough for their hospitality. We will definitely be coming back sometime soon and will make sure to stay a few extra nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and notified them that we would be checking-in about an hour after reception closed. They said it would be ok and that they would wait for us.

When we arrived, the hostess was very helpful and even granted my request for a late check out (around 11am). She also took the time to explain the Rotorua attractions.

Room was very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I would have rated this motel as "excellent" had the two lounge lights been working! Other than this small detail, all other aspects of my stay here met or exceeded my expectations. I saw somewhere that the Bella Vista accomodation can be compared to that of a quality hotel, but without the cost. I found this to be true.
Sue and Kevin are warm and friendly hosts, for whom no request is a bother.

The only thing that slightly marred my experience there was not the fault of either the motel or the hosts - major road-works were going on right outside the motel. However, this is a short-term event only.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg i. Br.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Bella Vista Motel is quite easy to find when you come into Rotorua, but it is a bit away from the town centre. That didn't matter to us since we stayed only for a night and had dinner at the Mitai anyhow.
Very friendly management. They opened an enclosed back yard for us to park our motorbikes safely. Well working internet access.
Good rooms and comfortable beds, too.
Somewhat noisy, though, since it is close to a major road. try to get a room on the first floor. Some of those don't look at the road directly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing