We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The motel is conveniently located, clean and reasonably priced. The hosts, Sue and Kevin are very friendly and offer great advice as to what to do in the area. The road construction near the motel did not affect our stay at the motel - it was quiet. This is a great place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
139
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. The hosts were very welcoming and gave us lots of info on local attractions and restaurants.
There were some roadworks nearby, but these are only a minor inconvenience and had little -if any- effect on our stay.
A great place to stay in Rotorua!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRaphaelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed in a number of motels in this chain during our trip around New Zeland. This one is typical, providing everything you need for an overnight stay. We were upgraded to a bigger room with a microwave which we appreciated. The place was very clean and well maintained. They give you milk for coffee / tea.

The only downside is the limited wifi that you need to pay for if you want to do anything other than check some emails.

They have a great cash back scheme to encourage loyalty, this saved us some money on our last night.

We would recommend the chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Affordable accomodation close to the business/ central district in Rotorua. Close to the gondola and rotorua parks.
Close to shops, restaurants and main road. Great staff and clean rooms.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joecach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The motel is very well kept up. Currently there is lots of street repair going on that makes it a bit difficult to navigate into and out of the parking lot, but that should not deter you. There are facilities for making coffee, tea and toast plus a microwave and refrigerator. From the motel it is a short walk to a large park with numerous bubbling mud pools and steam vents. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the main streets for restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: We recommend an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshbydelaZouch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very helpful and friendly hosts. Had originally planned to stay two nights but visiting family meant that we could only manage one night. We were greeted by Kevin who not only made recommendations of where to visit but also sorted discount vouchers for us. Having booked an evening visit to the Maori village on our behalf, Sue waited with us until our coach transport arrived- a lovely touch !
Our accommodation was of the standard we had come to expect from Bella Vista - very clean, comfortable and well equipped but like all of these motels it is the personal touch from the hosts which makes the difference.
A nice place to stay and can certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stopped here on a recent trip to Rotorua and loved the place. Centrally located near the main town park - complete with mud pools etc. Short walk to the restaurants. Massive room/suite. Free internet. However, the real gem about this place is the owners....very friendly, very helpful and very nice to boot. A shared interest in classic minis helped.....a guided tour of the '64 cooper was included in the service!

Room Tip: Can't say for the rest, but room 9 is huge....more like a flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing