We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it!”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Totally worth it!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me an my partner drove down over a long weekend to get away from the big city and spend some time in Rotorua. Bella Vista made our trip so relaxing. Everything was easy and prompt, right from booking our rooms, to requesting extensions, and to checking in and out. The hostess (I believe she was covering for the regular ones that weekend) was wonderful and helped us figure out what to do over the next couple of days. Gave us a wealth of advice about the things to do, how much they cost, and how easy they were to get to. Room was excellent as well. Was clean, quiet, comfortable and excellent value for money. Could not recommend this motel high enough, especially if you're looking for a nice getaway. We'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: The spa unit is excellent! Quiet, private, and you have your own spa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
139
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very welcoming. We stayed one night. Very clean and everything was well laid out. Good advice on local nplaces to eat. Would stay there again and would highly recommend.nothing was too much trouble. Rooms all faced one way so all the same view

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We arrived about 4 pm at the Bella Vista and stayed too night while driving around the north island. The motel is a bit outside the main town but once we got oriented it was very easy to get to and from town and to access the main routes to sights to the north and south. Our room was on the ground floor in the corner with the gardens just outside our door. It was clean although perhaps a bit small with the bed, a table and chairs, a desk, kitchenette, and closet and TV all in one room. By comparison, the bathroom across the end of the room was large. The owners directed us to a Countdown at a nearby mall for groceries and when they learned we were planning to barbeque move the grill and outdoor table and chairs around next to our unit. We had decided not to book anything before arriving in Rotorua except for a hangi. The owners check with the hangi provider regarding pickup and helped us with lots of suggestions on activities and restaurants and provided discount vouchers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Bella Vista to other travellers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor in the corner next to the gardens and while on the small side was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at a couple of Bella Vista hotels in New Zealand, and found that they provided a consistent standard of accommodation: clean, comfortable and well located. Kevin and Sue were very welcoming, and provided excellent advice on what to do (including the free attractions as well as the more expensive ones).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile



Situated on the outskirts of Rotorua, Bella Vista is just that bit too far out of town to be an ideal location.
The rooms are basic and beginning to show their age but are comfortable and have everything you need for a couple of nights stay.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the lady in reception (Sue), who spent a long time explaining the attractions of the town and helping us to plan our stay. She provided discount vouchers for some attractions and where appropriate made telephone bookings on our behalf.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bella Vista in Rotorua. Located about ten minutes walk from the city centre, and also within very close range of Rainbow Springs and other major attractions. The rooms were very clean and well presented. We received a very friendly welcome and was given good information about local attractions and things to do. Very enjoyable few days spent here and I will stay again when next In Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Sue and Kevin were welcoming. Kevin provided us with discount coupons and guidance for trips around Rotorua. They even offered to drop us to city center as we did not take our car and were to catch a bus back to Auckland. Our room was nice & clean & we enjoyed our stay here. If we were to visit Rotorua again, we would definitely come back here.

Note: We stayed at Bella Vista in December 2012

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
1.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing