We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Sue and Kevin went out of their way to make our stay at their welcoming motel memorable. They were hospitable and provided us with information and activities to our liking. We would recommend this spotless facility to anyone travelling in Rotarua .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
139
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We've been staying in Rotorua for many many times, but usually close to the Polynesian Spa. So we decided to stay at somewhere else for a change. The host lady was very very friendly and helpful, gave us some good self-drive suggestions, and it was great!!! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. This place wouldn't be the same without you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When they are available, I try to chose this motel chain because the buildings are structured in several and articulated units, a fact that meets my needs of privacy and comfort. And furthermore, the lady I met at the reception in Rotorua Bella Vista, probably the manager, was a very nice and helpful person. The night price was surprisingly low if one takes into account the fact that Rotorua is an important centre in terms of tourist attraction. This was my third time in NZ, and if I’m coming back soon or later, I will chose this motel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My first stay in Rotorua and Bella Vista Motel. Kevin and Sue were very welcoming, and gave us advice on things to do, places to eat, and helped to make our stay very relaxing. A few minutes away from the hustle of downtown Rotorua, but not out of walking distance. Only a few minute walk from the therapeutic foot baths of Kuirau Thermal Park. The rooms were very clean and the view was beautiful. The only downside was having to pay an extra $10 for a room with twin beds. I would definitely recommend this motel and would definitely stay again if I am in the Rotorua area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the least attractive of the 13 hotel/motels used during our 25 day tour of the N/S Islands in NZ. Small and cramped room with very basic facilities. Certainly no more than an overnighter. Receptionist Sue was extremely helpful otherwise 2.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was the first time we had stayed at a Bella Vista motel. It was definitely great value.
A warm welcome, good location, pleasing decor, modern bathroom. Had everything we expected for a comfortable stay.
It is next to Kuirau park. The pie shop next door has a large variety of tasty pies, as well as another Kiwi favourite, the cream donut. (A recommended place for breakfast or lunch is the Lime Cafe).

This is a motel that we would be happy to return to, much better than many of the dated jaded motels we stayed in previously when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me an my partner drove down over a long weekend to get away from the big city and spend some time in Rotorua. Bella Vista made our trip so relaxing. Everything was easy and prompt, right from booking our rooms, to requesting extensions, and to checking in and out. The hostess (I believe she was covering for the regular ones that weekend) was wonderful and helped us figure out what to do over the next couple of days. Gave us a wealth of advice about the things to do, how much they cost, and how easy they were to get to. Room was excellent as well. Was clean, quiet, comfortable and excellent value for money. Could not recommend this motel high enough, especially if you're looking for a nice getaway. We'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: The spa unit is excellent! Quiet, private, and you have your own spa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing