We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Sue, the owner, is a gem. She is the most helpful owner that we have ever met. Friendly, warm, and extremely helpful.
Since our bus did not drop us off at the motel as expected, Sue picked us up in her own car at the I-Site with all our luggage! She gave us a brief tour of the area where we could return for dinner, and took us to our rooms. After checking in, she drove us back to the same area (a short distance), for us to find a place to have dinner. Then we walked "home," about a 15-20 minute pleasant walk. On other occasions, Sue telephoned three companies to confirm our tour pickups for the next day -- so helpful! She also called our rooms to tell us a bus had arrived when we weren't outside. Co-owner Kevin was also friendly and easy going. Sue helped me to feel that things were taken care of and I could relax a little. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed one night and found the motel exactly as we expected, clean, tidy, modern, good parking, small room (but we knew it would be as that what we chose). Very handy location. Sue told us about a free concert on the lake front, which we wouldn't have know about other wise. It was fantastic and only a 5 minute walk from motel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent one night here en route to Auckland and wanting to see the geysers. The Bella Vista is a great accommodation choice and the one in Rotorua didn't disappoint. Only thing that saddened us was we wished we could have stayed longer! Accommodation was to a great standard, everything we needed was provided and our hosts, Kevin and Sue, were really helpful. We arrived on the day of the Lakeland Festival and took Kevin's suggestion of wandering down for a look that night. First class entertainment all provided free of charge. Rotorua is well worth more than a one night stop in our opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Bella Vista is well located near the centre of Rotorua just across the road from the park with the mud pools.
Access to the town centre is easy, 2 minutes drive and loads of free parking.
Teh motel is very modern, the rooms are well appointed and include a small kitchen aea that is very useful.
Sue and Kevin who own the motel are lovely, very helpful and knowledgable of the area where there is lots to see. I recommend talking to them and taking their advice as they will also give you discount vouchers for the most popular attractions.
I was having some problems with my credit card and they let me phone the UK to sort it out only charging what they had to pay there helpfullness saved me so much stress, thank you.
.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and there is no lift so if you struggle ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizEaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although my partner and I stayed just one night at Bella Vista, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
Our host who greeted us when we arrived tired and dishevelled after a day out in the sunshine was warm and friendly. He was so helpful, telling us about a concert happening on the waterfront that evening and giving us clear directions for how to get to it if we wanted to attend.
The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable and the motel itself was handily located to the centre of town - it seemed to be only a 5 minute drive anywhere you desired!
Next time I'm back in Rotorua overnight I will be staying with them again :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Sue and Kevin went out of their way to make our stay at their welcoming motel memorable. They were hospitable and provided us with information and activities to our liking. We would recommend this spotless facility to anyone travelling in Rotarua .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We've been staying in Rotorua for many many times, but usually close to the Polynesian Spa. So we decided to stay at somewhere else for a change. The host lady was very very friendly and helpful, gave us some good self-drive suggestions, and it was great!!! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. This place wouldn't be the same without you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing