We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We rented the cottage at City Lights Boutique Lodge for a 3 night stay with our 6 month baby. The hosts Naomi & Jim were kind and helpful. We enjoyed the cottage very much and would recommend it without any hesitation. Highlight of our stay: Enjoying pre-dinner cocktail on the table outside next to the 3 alpacas!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerrydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Jerrydus - thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed our cottage with the wonderful views and the alpacas for company! We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again one day - until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in this gorgeous B&B on our recent trip to NZ, From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome, by the lovely hosts, Naomi & Jim. Shown to our modern, immaculately clean room, we had great views over Rotorua and enjoyed two great nights sleep there. In the morning we enjoyed our chat with the hosts over a leisurely breakfast with home-made goodies. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary and Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Mary & Andy - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and I'm glad you liked our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again one day, until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in this beautiful B&B on our honeymoon, on July'13.
All we can do is praise the wonderful views, thw tidy and really clean rooms and the extremely friendy service. The owners are adorable and they make you feel completely at home.
We absolutely reccomend the home-made breakfast in the living room, the perfect way to start a day: good food and great views!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arcadio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Arcadio M - Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very grateful that our guests take the time to write about us, especially when they say such lovely things about our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope very much you will come and visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Many Thanks to Naomi, Tim and Oliver for a relaxing stay in the best accommodation available in Rotorua. Seriously, we inspected several of the hotels in town and they all presented themselves as tired and overpriced.

City Lights was literally a breath of fresh air - perched on top of the mountain overlooking town. Lovely location, lovely hosts. Excellent clean modern accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast in the mornings. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldsteinA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Arron and Kate - Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed your company, and are glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and our clean modern accommodation. We do hope we will see you again one day - until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

+ Cabin had everything you need and was furnished with modern quality appliances. Complimentary breakfast was included with delicious homemade jam. Nice and quiet. Friendly goat over the gate
- as it is a cabin, it was really cold even with all the heaters on. Don't use too many appliances at once or the power will go off. Would be better in summer.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Paiaka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Auheke - Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast pack and the modern quality appliances. I am sorry you were cold while you were there - we do have heaters in both bedrooms and the lounge. We hope you will come and stay with us again one day - until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Upon arrival we had a lovely welcome from host Jim who immediately offered us a hot cup of tea and showed us to our room. The room itself very well presented, sparkling clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom, warm and cosy. We were given advice on some of the good places to go for dinner and had a very nice meal out. The following morning we were given a delicious breakfast (the home made muesli was the star...thanks for the recipe Naomi) while looking out at a lovely view. The hosts provided us with some more tips on some of the hot spots to check out. Overall a fantastic stay, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Bridget S - Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at City Lights and we look forward to welcoming you again one day in the not too distant future. Until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After a long trip in the rain, it was good to find City Lights and to receive a warm welcome from the hosts. The room we stayed in was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had all the amenities needed including a welcome bottle of water and tea and coffee. The decor and finish has been done to a very high standard. The views over across Rotorua are breathtaking. Fantastic restaurant about 10 minutes drive up the hill which Naomi was happy to book for us. In the morning more advice was given about things to do. Extremely helpful re laundry and printing out our tickets for the next stage of our travels. All in all ant recommend it highly enough. You will be assured of a food nights sleep in super and peaceful and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Ann H - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our peaceful location and clean rooms. We love sharing our place with guests from all over the world and are keen to make sure they have a great stay in Rotorua. Aorangi Peak restaurant up the hill is a beautiful location offering top quality fine dining and its so convenient being just up the hill - we're glad you enjoyed this too. We hope you enjoy the rest of your NZ adventure and have a safe trip home to blighty. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
500 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Address: 56c Mountain Road | Western Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £141 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home.Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna. Continental breakfast included for B&B guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing