We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here in October 2013, on a 6 week tour of Oz and NZ. This motel is a prominent feature of Rotorua and is everything you could wish for. The rooms are charming - spacious, well cared for, tastefully decorated and well-stocked. And the spa pool in the room is lovely! Tea, filter coffee, milk and biscuits provided. The proprietors are just so nice and couldn't be more accommodating. Whole-heartedly recommend. Good locate, very reasonably priced, comfy and friendly. A haven. You really need look no further!

Room Tip: We had an upper room and the balcony is a pleasant feature.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Ashleigh Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

New owners, really helpful. Fresh milk supplied on arrival. Nice and clean and very comfortable.
Complimentary coffee with perculator, could purchase more coffee for reasonable price. Usual tea coffee and biscuits available. Useful local ionformation in room

Room Tip: we stayed upstairs, no problem with noise, catch a nice breeze there.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripper128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Ashleigh Court Motel has been a Rotorua landmark for some years. We stayed for comfortable two nights recently. The motel is well appointed, if showing its age with faded prints on the walls and tired carpet in the rooms.
The owner, Brian Rusk, is a voluble Welshman and friendly host who offered us helpful advice about events in Rotorua.
Would recommend the motel to anyone passing through Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Brian and Mary were so welcoming and friendly. The spa in every room was a lovely luxurious treat to relax in. The rooms were so comfortable and warm and the hosts have paid great attention to detail. Ill certainly return next time I'm in Rotorua.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights on the second floor. There is no elevator so had to lug the cases up the tight outdoor spiral staircase. The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us a jug of milk upon arrival. The bed was too soft and too low, very squeaky and springy. The bathroom had a hot tub in it and we used it every day; not very Eco-friendly though. The motel is located, along with many others, on Fenton Street and was easy to find. There are lots of places in the area and we would probably stay at a more modern place in future. I believe this motel is up for sale.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Fenton Street is 'hotel central' in Rotorua....there's so much choice to be had but the bright paintwork and colourful flower baskets at the Ashleigh Court set the scene and urge a closer look. Like many motels it's far from new but my room sported a recent makeover with decor and furniture steering away from the standard motel style. There was a wide comfortable bed with (unusually in New Zealand) a duvet in a room set with dining and coffee tables and a small well equipped kitchette. A huge spa bath dominated the recently redecorated bathroom where we found a stack of thick soft towels and good quality soaps. A friendly chatty welcome from the proprietor, an offer of milk for tea and information about the town set us off on a good note when we checked in. The main road is busy but the rooms face onto a side street and noise is not an issue. NZ$9 buys you use of the guest laundry set with a good top-loader and usefully big dryer. For NZ$110 a night you might find the equal of this place but I don't think you'll beat it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Don't expect a lot here, rooms are very outdated but having said that they are kept clean. The owner (Brian) is very friendly & is more than happy to help with anything you need.
They have spas in every room out the back but the only problem is these are undercover with the roof stretching all the way along to all units and cigarette smoke wafts into your unit so keep your sliding door & windows closed.

The smell from the geothermal really didn't worry us, you got used to it and only really smelt it first thing in the morning.
Breakfast is ok here but ask for the toast to be well cooked otherwise you will get slices of bread!
It's not a place you would spend the day hanging around, sleepover only & move on! Happy travelling!
P.s The Polenisian Spa is only up he road & should bea must do on your trip to Rotorua!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank macka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#85 of 92 in Rotorua
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 337 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £56 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering value for money motel accommodation in a quiet tree -lined street with a lovely park-like outlook in the centre of Rotorua. Friendly "Kiwi hosts" focused on ensuring your stay is pleasant and comfortable. Studio rooms with double or twin beds, one accessible ground floor unit and 1 bedroom family units that sleep up to 5 guests. All units have private spa pools, well equipped kitchen, complimentary tea / coffee, 50+ SKY TV channels and are serviced daily. Free WiFi for all guests. Plenty of off-street parking, secure bicycle storage, guest laundry, breakfast available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing