We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it so much we came back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotorua Central Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we came back!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friend and I were driving around the North Island and stumbled upon this fantastic backpackers in Rotorua. While it looks a bit old from the outside, inside was very warm and inviting. Big, purple and friendly, we ended up staying a night on our way south and then changed our plans and spent another night there heading back north. The man on the desk was very friendly and even though we hadn't booked we were able to get a room. Free WIFI was an added bonus and it was fast as well!
The beds were very comfortable and the room stayed warm even in the very chilly weather without even having to turn the heater on. We stayed in a twin room and even though we didn't have a BBH membership it was still damn good value for our fairly decent sized room with a little walk-in wardrobe.
The bathrooms were clean and the showers were wonderfully warm with good pressure. There were even bathmats (absolute luxury compared to some bathrooms I've been in).
It's close to the main drag with restaurants, bars, cafes and shops and a 10min walk to Pak n'Save.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrabYourPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Really love return guests - guess I will keep that room purple then.

You know some people think the outside of our building is grey - go figure.


See ya
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    53
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
52
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We based ourselves at RCB for 4 nights while touring about Rotorua and the surrounding area on the last leg of our NZ adventure. We have stayed at numerous hostels in numerous countries and RCB is at the top of our list.

Why you should stay at RCB:
- Neil and Catharine at the front desk were helpful getting us all sorted out upon arrival and were a good source of advice for things to do and see over our stay
- Unlimited wifi is a big bonus
- Large and well equipped kitchen
- Free parking
- Affordable on site laundry ($3 per load)
- Clean and well kept washrooms and shower areas
- Comfy beds
- Easy walking distance to most amenities (ie groceries)
- the list goes on

As you can read, we were more than happy with our decision to stay at RCB. Thanks again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We did not pay them for this review - honest.

Wow - thanks for that great review - we do try to please.


Cheers
Neil & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a gem in Rotorua. The facilities were so lovely - showers AND baths available! The building looks old English, there's a (quiet room for reading, computer use &c), a nice-sized kitchen, and the double room we had was great! The staff were SO friendly and helpful; they found us a room for a great price even though it was over a holiday weekend. Free unlimited WIFI in the rooms (bonus!), and they allowed us to stay in the quiet room and use their free WIFI while we waited for our tours and buses after checking out. It's close to i-SITE which is convenient. And it was quiet - no partying going on which was fantastic for us. It was one of the best places we stayed at in NZ. And the price was so cheap for a double room! Definitely would stay there again if we went to Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hostel has a great chilled out vibe, the couple who run it are lovely, friendly and always happy to help, and really care about that their guests have a good stay. The beds are really comfy you get a decent nights sleep which can't be said for alot of hostels! The spa is very warm, clean and not overlooked which is nice too. Kitchen is clean with good amenities and nice outside space too. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here don't have a bad word to say about it and will definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Keep in mind that it is a backpackers which means close quarters with other people (though very friendly) and the desired basics; if you don't like this don't stay here and be mindful of what you're booking. For a backpacker this is all you could desire; good location, neat and tidy rooms, big kitchen and excellent facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I like the way you are thinking!

We too think $20 for hotel quality beds, central heating, good shower, spa, great kitchen & free wi-fi.

Cheers
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is heated geo-thermally so beautifully warm, and it has real beds (not bunk beds) so is a spot of luxury when backpacking. The staff are great and really nice and the spa pool is heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad everything was perfect for you :)

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked a double room for a couple of nights and we were really pleased. The room was well sized and warm with a large window. The bathrooms and showers were plenty and very clean. The kitchen was a good size with lots of equipment and utensils and the radio played at dinner. The location was fantastic, a short walk to anything from the Museum to the Hot Pools to the Parks. Overall our stay was very comfortable and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephandJosh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Happy you enjoyed your stay - thank you for your nice response.

The geothermal heating is definitely a bonus now the temperature has dropped :)

Cheers
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#26 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Central Backpackers

Property: Rotorua Central Backpackers
Address: 1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1930's character building situated close to the CBD of Rotorua. We offer a range of room configurations. No ensuite facilities, cheap wifi, large shared kithen, spa pool, thermal central heating in all rooms, choice of shower or bath, bed linen included. A great place to take a break! Office hours 8am to 7pm NZT. Please only phone during office hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rotorua Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Central Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing