We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One honest option in an area with not lots of places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One honest option in an area with not lots of places to stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in a villa with one bed. The Park have several kinds of rooms. Our villa was not brand new, not for a honeymoon (not really a beautiful villa), but a right one, the owner was a lady really kindly and very informative, the shower was great, the heating enough and the villa are supplied with electric blankets. The bath was small and the cooking are is in the same space that bed, not the best option if you have to cook a lot, but enough if, as our case, only use as a support for light meals. We recommend the place and repeat our selection with no problem. One detail, not minor, my wife lost her wallet, with money, all the credit cards, etc..we did not know where, we return quickly to the park to look for the wallet and the owner comes quickly to return it, other guess found it in the floor in the parking area, all was inside!! yes, this is the normal behaviour but for us was great, we were in our fists days in a month long trip 20.000kms from our home!! this fact was the difference between a memorable trip to a hard one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    28
    6
    2
    16
See reviews for
45
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a lovely time we had at Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park. We rented a cabin for 4 nights and were able to bring our little boy Simba (dog) as well! The facilities are spotless, so clean and tidy, bathrooms and kitchen area's gets daily serviced and maintained. The owners of the park are always out and about on the grounds and always willing to help or offer advice were they can. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed over Easter in a cabin. There was no bike wash down area and when we found a hose the owner growled at us, which wasn't good customer relations. Every other campground is well set up for bikers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trout1Rotorua, Owner at Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review - it helps our business continue to grow. Our Guest Information (in each unit and given to the guest on arrival) clearly states "No vehicles to be washed on site".
As a responsible and sustainable Tourism operator with a stream running through the Park it would be environmentally irresponsible to allow contaminates to be transferred from one area to another area near a stream. This is a major recommendation of our local environmental agencies who are spending $millions to improve the quality of our lakes and streams and is part of our Riparian Management Plan.
I tried to explain this to the guest (apparently that means growling them) but it would appear they did not understand or do not share the vision of a clean, green NZ.
Fortunately the other 7 mountain bikers did read our Guest Information and were happy to use the designated bike wash area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is only a small holiday park but it is so beautiful and picturesque. Our family was very warmly welcomed on arrival (free ice creams for our 2 little boys which was well received!) and the owner was only too happy to hire out some fishing gear to my husband who couldn't wait to fish in the beautiful, clear waters of the trout stream which was literally at our campervan doorstep! A 200m peaceful walk along the stream brought you out to the beautiful Lake Rotorua. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisem2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed here a few times now both with my family and also with a school group.
This place is really like a home away from home for us now.
Everytime we arrive we are made to feel welcome and we make full use of the facilities during our stay.
The kitchen is fully equipped to deal with large groups and the accommodation is warm and comfortable for a place to sleep after a big day exploring the Rotorua area.
We really enjoy our visits to Rotorua and Waiteti is top on our list!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

During our NZ trip, we stayed in 4 sites and by consensus; this was the one we enjoyed the most. Booked a powered site and stayed for one night. . Driving into the unpretentious park, we were taken in my serenity of the stream and its surroundings. Power cable, fresh STREAM water and waste disposals were conveniently located. The toilets were clean, modern and effective. We enjoyed the fishing and kayaking facilities. Michael was very welcoming, friendly and hospitable. He made a lot of recommendations and we felt at home immediately. Will strongly recommend.

Room Tip: If adventurous enough, take the trail and it will lead to Lake Rotura. Good workout for the body and...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Located in a pleasant suburban area next to a stream and amongst other houses and gardens. There is a walk down the stream to Lake Rotorua that only takes a few minutes. Site is closely packed yet well laid out. Friendly and knowledgeable owner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
10.3 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
6.6 mi away
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jack & Di's Troutbeck Lodge Guest Rooms
5.0 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 58 in Rotorua
205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park

Property: Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Address: 14 Okona Cresent | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing