We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for trout fishing in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value for trout fishing in NZ”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Keeping the very reasonable prices in mind, the accommodation and services are excellent and the ground are always tidy. The resident owners take care to ensure that unreasonable or poorly behaved guests are not permitted to spoil the enjoyment of others. We have visited many times on our annual holiday from Scotland. We will be back there again in Feb 2011 and look forward to meeting up again with other regulars from round the world. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    28
    6
    2
    15
See reviews for
40
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This place is exactly what a holiday park should be. Simple and affordable but well kept and in a nice location.

The cabin was a tiny, neat and well kept old logging cabin with a little kitchenette and one of those two under one over bunk beds. Snug, but cute. We used the shared bathrooms and kitchens at this holiday are perfectly clean. I've never seen such clean shared showers. You can tell the owner loves the place by the way he smooths out the gravel on the parking lot every day.

The owners are friendly and worth chatting to. The place has 4 kayaks and a dingy you can use for free. The park is a 10 minute paddle up a beautiful little stream to the lake. Highly recommended, but avoid the blue kayak unless it's a nice warm day. That's a nice way to spend a chilled day. Good quality fly/lure fishing equipment is available for hire. You can literally fish from the park itself.

They are located 5 minutes drive from town so you can't walk to restaurants/bars.

We stayed in a kitchen cabin for two nights. Total cost: $85. Best value of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortlake, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

What a wonderful place to stay and enjoy our Rotorua experience.
Wonderful hosts and a warm welcome.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Our family rented a "motel" room at Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park for two nights and had the most horrific experience that we need to warn others not to stay here!

Apart from the rooms being shabby, the owners were nosy, rude and "banned" one of our family members from the site for being "cheeky" to her. They monitor the amount of cars that come in and the people that have come to visit you to the point of being rude. They asked someone who was actually staying at the Holiday Park to park her vehicle on the road and when we questioned this the owner went nuts and told us to leave the property.

All in all a horrific experience, we had already paid for the second night and they would not give us a refund so we had to stay there again - if you want a relaxing weekend with some privacy I suggest you don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mihiarangi_piripi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trout1Rotorua, Owner at Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
We welcome feed back - its helps our business continue to grow.
This reviewer made the reservation but did not stay at the park and appears unwilling to accept responsibility for the unacceptable behaviour for some of her family and friends(teenagers).
A guest was asked to leave the property for abusive language and intimidating behaviour towards the female owner which was witnessed by staff.
The guests who stayed did not mention the unit being shabby which was redecorated 3 years ago.
Visitors are welcome and our our Visitor Policy on the sign at entrance and Guest Information Guide clearly requests visitors to report to the office on arrival.This is standard policy in well managed Holiday Parks and ensures the safety of all our guests.
We are usually able to provide parking for up to 2 cars per unit.We were able to find parking for the 5 cars from this group.When we are busy visitors are requested to park on the road.At one stage we had 5 additional vechicles blocking the driveway.
We also had difficulty obtaining payment.
62% of our business is 'repeat' or 'referrals' who come to enjoy our hospitality in a relaxing and safe enviroment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
4.7 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.7 mi away
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
#8 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.3 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park

Property: Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Address: 14 Okona Cresent | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing