We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great indoor spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pohutu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pohutu Lodge
Aus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great indoor spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

A very spacious studio type room. Room we had chosen was with a spa. The room seems to shake when a vehicle passes by. Something is quite noisy, not sure if it's the hot water boiler coming on and off.

Room Tip: room with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFS_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The motel is situated some way (short drive or long walk) from the centre of town. It is located adjacent to one of the main attractions for bubbling pools and geysers. Indeed it is possible to see some of the geothermal activity from a vantage point behind the motel.

We were welcomed by Barry the owner, who was very amiable and gave us useful information about the local area. He likes to chat about rugby but knows very little about the subject!! Test his knowledge!

Our upstairs room was large with a kitchenette area at one end, a queen size bed, table & chairs and sofa. The bathroom had a standard sized bath with a spa facility. There was a separate shower cubicle with a fixed shower head controlled by a single lever for water temperature which starts at cold. Water pressure is preset.

The room was clean and the staff were friendly.

We went on an organised tour to the local Maori village one evening which we enjoyed. Our coach driver, Mark, was very entertaining and had a nice patter for translating Kia Ora into many languages. Like Barry he also waxed lyrical about rugby, especially the Kiwi team but a lot of it was hype more than substance! Ask him a few questions to catch him out!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We are 2 families ( 4 adults and 3 teenagers) from Australia who spent 3 nights in the 'Heavenly Heights' Apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We rearranged the bedding to suit our needs and most of us found the beds very comfortable (apart from our 2 teenage 'princesses' to whom I say 'harden up'). The bathroom was huge, with plenty of hot water, an awesome spa bath and an abundance of clean towels. Barry and Shirley were so welcoming, friendly and helpful with tips on the best value sights to see (including a couple of 'freebies' such as 'Kerosene Creek'). They booked our night at the 'Maori Village' night show, which was a definite highlight. Barry offered to shout us a beer a few times and Shirley organised our online check in for our return journey and printed our boarding passes for no charge :-) Highly recommended. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom family unit with a spa. The unit was clean and tidy and clean towels were provided daily. We stayed for seven days. Barry and Shirley (the owners) are amazing. They were really helpful and told us about places we could go that wouldn't cost money (like kerosene falls). Nothing was too hard for Barry and Shirley. We went on a Maori tour and Barry called up and arranged it and we ended up getting an $80 discount because there were six of us. If you walk out the back of the property through the gate you can see the geyser errupting. Really cool!! I would highly recommend staying here and we definately will when we return. Thanks guys for an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very clean spacious accommodation. Barry & Shirley are the perfect hosts and very helpful.
The motel is in a great location just far enough to be out of the hustle of the town but close to so many amenities. Can't believe how much there is to do there! Great view of the geyser too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longstocking_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

2 bed family unit - clean & tidy, dated furniture but not too worn. Carpet could do with replacing could see the wood stairs in parts. Disappointed there was little hot water, had enough for 2 X 2min showers and that was it, no hot water for washing dishes let alone filling the bath. Microwave was dirty from prev person & upstairs toilet stunk of wee (probably on the floor) but rest of the unit was clean. Kitchen had an ant problem which spoiled a lot of our food so we had to move the food to the bedrooms to store. Very thin walls (and we had a VERY noisy family with screaming kids 24X7) but that's what you get with apartment living.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank survivor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed in unit 1 all by myself but would sleep 6 people. Very comfortable. 1\2 hour walk into town but most people have a car! I came by bus and Barry picked me up to bring meto motel. He also kindly tookmeto the Redwood forest leaving me to walk andcameback to pick meup.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majormole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atsala Apartment Stay
Atsala Apartment Stay
#37 of 55 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohutu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohutu Lodge

Property: Pohutu Lodge
Address: 3 Meade Street | Whakarewarewa, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohutu Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pohutu Lodge is a friendly, family run business, dedicated to maximizing your holiday experience. We operate two bedroom units suited for families, with one that boasts of being Rotorua’s highest motel bedroom suite with views over the city and lake. These units all have two TVs, two toilets, a spa bath and a shower, so you don’t struggle for space, letting the whole family enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pohutu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing