We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”
Review of Pohutu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pohutu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Barry & Shirley were both fabulous hosts providing not only accommodation but also extremely helpful tour guides. Giving us a huge amount of local knowledge so we were able to see the best things in our short time in Roturua. Hope to be able to one back soon with my family and enjoy the experience. What an awesome back yard they have not toooooo many places could claim that. Thanks heaps and we hope to see your again one day.

Room Tip: Rooms great all comfortable choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at Pohutu Lodge for 5 nights in November 2009. Originally we planned to stay for 4 nights, but the place was so nice and the hosts were so friendly and helpful that we decided to add 1 more day and visit Tarawera falls following the hosts advice.
We stayed at 2-bedroom family unit which very spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Location is very convenient - right next to Te Puia Cultural Centre.
All in all great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegugin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed with partner and three children over the school holidays. Great central location and friendly and courteous service from host.

Rooms are clean, functional and spacious. Enjoyed the spa and a private room upstairs away from the kids room. Lounge room was upstairs, so had to be extra careful with our baby crawler, though we were innovative in moving the lounge suites to block the stairway.

Thank you to all the staff at the Pohuto Lodge for their hospitality and proving helpful tourism advice.

Also wanted to mention that the smell of sulfur wasn't that bad!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Wonderful location, just a bit from town and close to many sites. Barry and Shirley, the owners, were extremely helpful and spent a lot of time answering our questions and helping us plan our day, They went out of their way to help us make our next reservation during a crowded holiday weekend. Our accomodations were very clean and comfortable. We had two bedrooms, one downstairs with three beds, and a studiio area upstairs with a kitchenette area, table, chairs and sofa at one end and a bedroom with a queen sized bed at the other end. All was perfect and I will always stay here when I am anywhere close to this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This place is wonderful... the people who run it made our vacation extraordinary, instead of just good. Clean apartments, clean sheets, comfortable beds and pillows... a great view of the geyser in town. Our little room even had a sitting area and a balcony!

If I ever get back to Rotorura, I will stay here, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

A very spacious studio type room. Room we had chosen was with a spa. The room seems to shake when a vehicle passes by. Something is quite noisy, not sure if it's the hot water boiler coming on and off.

Room Tip: room with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFS_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The motel is situated some way (short drive or long walk) from the centre of town. It is located adjacent to one of the main attractions for bubbling pools and geysers. Indeed it is possible to see some of the geothermal activity from a vantage point behind the motel.

We were welcomed by Barry the owner, who was very amiable and gave us useful information about the local area. He likes to chat about rugby but knows very little about the subject!! Test his knowledge!

Our upstairs room was large with a kitchenette area at one end, a queen size bed, table & chairs and sofa. The bathroom had a standard sized bath with a spa facility. There was a separate shower cubicle with a fixed shower head controlled by a single lever for water temperature which starts at cold. Water pressure is preset.

The room was clean and the staff were friendly.

We went on an organised tour to the local Maori village one evening which we enjoyed. Our coach driver, Mark, was very entertaining and had a nice patter for translating Kia Ora into many languages. Like Barry he also waxed lyrical about rugby, especially the Kiwi team but a lot of it was hype more than substance! Ask him a few questions to catch him out!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohutu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohutu Lodge

Address: 3 Meade Street | Whakarewarewa, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohutu Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pohutu Lodge Motel, your perfect Rotorua Accommodation experience. Rotorua is a vibrant, exciting and interesting destination with something for everyone. Pohutu Lodge is conveniently situated for you to discover everything Rotorua has to offer. Pohutu Lodge Motel is on the edge of the Whakarewarewa Thermal Valley and takes its name from the famous Pohutu Geyser. Pohutu is a natural fountain of explosive boiling water and is only a few hundred metres away, situated in one of the most popular tourist attractions of Rotorua and indeed, New Zealand. If you are heading to Rotorua with the intention of doing some mountain biking at the internationally famous Redwoods Forest, then you're not going to find a motel any closer to the action. From Pohutu Lodge Motel on Meade Street, you are within a few minutes’ drive of both the main carparks of the Waipa and Redwoods Forest mountain biking trails. Our rooms are all very spacious, most with two separate bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pohutu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing