We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view! Fabulous, relaxing stay on New Zealand farm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Ranked #15 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We loved staying with George and Alan and all the lovely animals. We got to help feed the animals every morning and enjoyed a large, delicious breakfast and great company. The owners, George and Alan, helped us with some local reservations and tickets to the glow worm caves, Hobbiton and other attractions. They also had some great tips about restaurants, scenic walks and other things to do in the area. We were in Australia and New Zealand for two weeks and our 3 nights at Lakeview Heights were the highlight! We definitely recommend this place--great view and the Rotorua room was amazing with a private porch and ensuite bathroom. We can't wait to go back some day!

Room Tip: The Rotorua room was awesome!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for a few nights late February 2013. The main reason you should stay here is the location, perched up on a hilltop overlooking the lake. We were lucky enough to have the room with a balcony that looks out over the lake and the views were out of this world. I will put some photos up here at a later date. The thing you need to remember about this place that although it appears in a few places as a Rotorua place to stay it is in fact nowhere near Rotorua, but on the basis there really isnt anything worth seeing in Rotorua itself then this wasnt an issue for us (what I mean is most of the interesting things to see are outside the actual town). Anyway, apart from this place being maybe further away from town than you may like there are some great reasons on top of just the great view to stay here. Firstly, the owners Alan and George are very friendly and have plenty of information for the traveller. Secondly there is a great walk close by where some of New Zealands clearest spring waters flow which is just beautiful. For kids (or in my case the Mrs!) the guest house itself has quite a few farm animals to feed and play with and if thats not enough then there is the Agradome round the corner which is basically a big working farm that takes in tourists and takes you round fields and fields of different animals you can get off, feed them, pet them and find out all about them. Your nearest place to eat is a good 15 minutes away, which isnt the end of the world in itself, but just in case you dont want to drive you can choose to stay and eat with Alan and George themselves if you so wish.

In short, this is a superb location, very quiet, very beautiful, very private with plenty to do and see, run by nice people at a good price. Ask for the room with the balcony and you wont regret your stay. Just as importantly, all those thermal activity places you want to see are an easy drive away. Gary and Tanja

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Absolutely beautiful location and a very warm welcome from Alan and George. We had a spotlessly clean room with plenty of space and stunning views over the hills and lake Rotorua. It was a little bit more of a drive than we expected from the main road, by no means a negative point but worth noting - if you've been driving for 5 mins up a windy road through the hills, don't worry, you're nearly there! Breakfast was great, with a good choice of cereals/continental food and cooked breakfast which gave us a great start to the day. We had time for a quick look around the gardens though unfortunately didn't get up in time to go and feed the farm animals as we were exhausted from a whirlwind trip of the north island and the bed was just too cosy :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It's a lovely place with a great view and wonderful host. Would be very happy to coming back again. It has a wonderful lake view and a nice farm. One can go for a morning walk to collect eggs and meet the farm animals.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ajoyhalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at Lakeview Heights with George, Alan and Tue (the dog ) for one night as part of a homestay visit whilst on a 18 day coach tour of the Islands. Made to feel really welcome with outstanding hospitality. A great evening meal on the patio looking over the exceptional views of the lake, topped off with a clear starry night viewed from the bed through the Velux skylight above. Memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A warm welcome, a lovely room with a balcony and a stunning view. Lots of animals to visit on a morning tour with Alan and George and after this a nice breakfast with Phoebe-the hen's freh eggs. You will definitely like that!
Alan and George are also very helpful in giving advice about and helping with sightseeing in and araound Rotorua.
The drive from Rotorua does not take too long and it is definitely worth it to be away from the smell.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony (Rotorua Room) is just perfect
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin-Erhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Chose this after reading the reviews. Comfortable room and very quiet, pleasant surroundings. Terrific views of the lake. Enjoy the rooster(s) at 3.30 a.m. onwards! About 20 minutes from Rotorua and the main attractions. Thoroughly enjoyed Rotorua - some great attractions and activities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
493 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
274 reviews
3.7 mi away
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
#27 of 92 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Heights Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Heights Farm Stay

Address: 269 Te Waerenga Road | RD6, Rotorua 3096, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakeview Heights Farm Stay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious modern home set amid landscaped gardens with amazing views of the lake and mountains. Home to sheep, chickens goats, pigs, alpaca and cows. 3 Km from the lake for trout fishing, golf course and walks to springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Heights Farm Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing