We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Place to Stay, Fantastic Views"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Ranked #14 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in January 2014.
Hosts Georgina and Alan very friendly and eager to help out at all times.
Booked the Rotorua room and glad we did as views over lake Rotorua from the balcony of this well appointed room are just incredible. It felt as though we were on the top of the world!
Young son had a great time feeding the animals and playing with the very friendly dog "Tui". Loved "Pickles" the pig. Watch out for those cheeky goats though!
Very quite rural location but visitors should remember this is a Farm Stay and you may have the roosters giving you an early morning wake up call!
Can certainly recommend the very extensive breakfast.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property and would recommend to anyone wishing Farm Stay style accommodation.
Thank you George and Alan for a really enjoyable stay in your lovely home.

Room Tip: If you can make sure you book the Rotorua Room. Can accommodate 3 persons. You will be amazed by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niftynev_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I recently returned from honeymooning in New Zealand. Of all the places we stayed during our two-week adventure, the two nights spent at Lakeview Heights Farm Stay were by far our most memorable. Alan & George are truly the hosts with the most - kind, friendly & hospitable. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with the kind of elegant country charm that makes you feel instantly welcome. We opted to stay in one night to have dinner with our hosts as well - what a great decision! Delicious food, stellar company & conversation and a breathtaking view as the sun set over the lake and the stars came out to blanket the sky. Of course one of my favorite memories was our journey around the farm for a meet & greet with the animals - "Pickles" the pig, the pregnant alpacas, the droopy-eared sheep, the grinning goat - I loved them all!

I wish we could have stayed longer. Hopefully we can go back for an anniversary! Huge thanks again to George and Alan for an unforgettable honeymoon memory.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect - not sure if it had a name, but see photos. The only thing to keep in mind whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BondScully_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Such a great first visit, we went back for more. Wow view. Cute farm. Good rooms. Yummy breakfasts. Welcoming and caring hosts in Alan and Georgina. Don't miss Scenic Walk, Redwoods and incredible Spring.

Room Tip: Rotorua has the best view and takes 3 pax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Got the pleasure of staying 2 wonderful nights (Oct. 19 & 20th) with Alan and George at their beautiful Lakeveiw Heights farm stay. Beautiful large room with balcony overlooking the awesome lake/hillside scenery of the Rotorua area. They went out of their way to make us feel at home....even got them to sit down and join us for a lovely breakfast. (I am now hooked on Weet Bix cereal!! LOL) It was a delight to go out with them one morning to feed their animals: cows, sheep, alpacas, chickens and the pig!! We also loved their dog Tui who was very friendly. I will never forget our warm, welcoming visit with Alan & George at Lakeview Heights!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We took the Rotorua room for our stay and it has a very nice view. What surprise us most is the bright starry night scene. We had some good farm viewing activities particularly the livestock feeding. The breakfast was wonderful with Alan and George serving us and make ourselves at home.

Room Tip: Choose the Rotorua room for a 2 + 1 and if you like a balcony and night stars scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangHijau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lakeview Heights is in a great location, with panoramic views of Rotorua. The rooms are large (as are the breakfasts), all comforts are provided, and Alan and George have a lot of useful, local knowledge to help you make the most of your stay in Rotorua. We didn't drag ourselves out of our comfortable beds to feed the animals, but the friendly welcoming pig was one of the most memorable highlights of our holiday. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in two of the three rooms and they were both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59BevS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Pleasant B and B with views over the lake and opportunities to feed the sheep, alpaca, cows, and chickens, and enjoy the company of a very friendly dog. Our girls loved the family room which was well stocked with games and books. George and Alan are welcoming hosts and prepared lovely breakfasts for us; they also had plenty of suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. Good WIFI. 25 min to city centre of Rotorua by car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Henri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
7.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
806 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
500 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Panoramic Country Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Heights Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Heights Farm Stay

Address: 269 Te Waerenga Road | RD6, Rotorua 3096, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £103 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakeview Heights Farm Stay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious modern home set amid landscaped gardens with amazing views of the lake and mountains. Home to sheep, chickens goats, pigs, alpaca and cows. 3 Km from the lake for trout fishing, golf course and walks to springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Heights Farm Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing