We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairy Springs Motel
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Situated on the edge of Rotorua next to the Rotorua gondola. We could walk to the gondola ticket office in 2 minutes ! But a 5 -10 minute drive from the city so you will need a car. Pretty quiet even though on the main road. Rooms are simple but comfortable enough. Friendly host, free wifi (though a bit slow) and reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hway29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This motel is located between the gondola and miniature golf course. At first I was disappointed because it seemed a bit run down from the outside. The rooms was very comfortable, although the walls are thin and we had very noisy neighbors one of the night we stayed there. There are reading lamps by the beds, a real plus for me. What makes this a great place to stay is that it is on the edge of town, not crowded and smelling of sulfur, and the manager is just about the most helpful person ever, she even lent me a sweater to use. It has a great kitchen in the unit with a real oven. We could also walk to the Mitai Maori Cultural experience. There was fresh fruit in our room when we arrived. Across the street was a huge fruit stand and a butcher shop. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had booked a room for 4 adults & 1 child but on arrival, we were given only a room that accomodated 4 people. On complaining, the new property owners gave us an adjoining room but it was very smelly and had a lot of cobwebs. Wont be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Booked on line and confirmed to be advised by owner that no rooms were available. Subsequent discussions revealed that new owner had taken over 3 weeks previous and had not been provided with a proper handover.
Well worth a try as the owner is very hospitable and has plans for the property which is in need of some care.
May be you should call first but problems are being sorted quickly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Nice, clean and most of all affordable accommodation. They have a special 3 night stay @ $65 a night. Free wifi. Friendly hosts. The only cons are that the heater in the lounge is on timer and it doesn't seem to heat up very well. Bring your own soap & shampoo.

Room Tip: I would give a tip if we had stayed in all the rooms but we didn't. This is a stupid comment bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here in august for 4 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 5 and 8. The owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. the children loved the playground and enjoyed the spa and the room we had was very spacious and well equipped. Being close to the skyline we went there during the day then returned for dinner in the evening which was fabulous. I would also recommend the mitai evening and a visit to see the kiwi's at rainbows springs which is all very close by. A great weekend break - thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very friendly hosts offering good priced accomodation. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Away from the city centre and associated sulphur smells. Handy for the sky ride and wildlife park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Springs Motel

Property: Fairy Springs Motel
Address: 156 Fairy Springs Road | (State Highway 5), Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Springs Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Ground floor apartments in 2 typically kiwi timber buildings. All apartments are self contained with a full kitchen, bathroom & separate toilet. Very Spacious, Comfortable and Clean rooms in quiet peaceful surroundings. Good value & excellent location next to many of Rotorua's famous tourist attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairy Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing