We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We got a log cabin - I was expecting a cabin of some sort but not one made out of logs :p
It was good until I observed toilets behind us and realised the outside light would be shining in our window all night. Not sure what the deal with the white curtains is - not ideal for sleeping - better with darker curtains. We had to put a towel up to make the room a little darker - we had to open the window to do so, so we were a little cold overnight.
The hot pools were good - we managed to sneak into the mineral pool after the screaming kids had gone to bed - there was some school kids here - although the sign said all kids must be supervised I guess these ones didn't clarify. Unfortunately they did what kids do and were screaming for the whole hour we were there. I think if management had come over and given them an empty threat to quieten down it would have worked, the teachers had no effect on telling them off. It was about 8pm at night. The mineral pool was much hotter than the mini tubs which was nice.
The bathrooms were average. I forgot motor camps don't have cutlery so we had to bite our lemon open YAY!
TV had no remote but we managed to change the channels via the tv unit itself. The heater in the room did no good at heating.
I liked the cat, she was lovely - unsure if it's the resident camp cat or a cat that has adopted the place but she was cute. I want it....!
It's a bit further from town so better if you have a car as it will be a LONG walk.

Room Tip: Bring a dark towel and ear plugs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, office staff at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

hi there

thank you for your feed back, we have taken in to consideration all your comments and are working to improve our park and the experience campers are getting. thank you for taking the time to send us your back other wise we would not know what needed to change. hope you come back soon.

Regards
Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

we thought we were getting an authentic log cabin but we instead arrived at kitchen cabin, which i suggest you do not get. it is the size of an average bedroom with the very basics. along with that the big pool is 'broken' and the cafe is closed. i suggest you do not come here, it's absolutely shocking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rose_howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Hello,

sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, our swimming pool is now closed due to earthquake damage. We are currently in the progress of looking at a whole new pool for the park. Tree House Café is open in 2 weeks. We could not operate the café due to one of the older large trees on the park causing damage to the roof of the café, then flooding occurred. The Tree has been removed and work on getting the café back up an running is currently underway.
I am also sorry you were placed in a standard cabin. We have had this problem before due to misunderstanding with booking.
A new web site is under development with up to date photos to enable a better booking process for the future.

Were we able to transfer you to a log cabin during your stay?

Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience, we are currently working on these issues and hope to get resolved asp.

Kind regards Clare Ngatai (New Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We went to Rotorua for a weekend and loved staying here at the Thermal Holiday park. The houses were well equipped and we enjoyed relaxing in the pools after busy days exploring Rotorua.

Remember while staying here to visit the Rainbow kiwi park. (They have a great night tour where you can see the Kiwis upclose). Also visit the famous Te Pui and don't forget about the Duck boat tours and Skyline for the youngers ;-) Great fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Hello and thank you very much for your great feed back. I have just taken over management of Rotorua Thermal Holiday park and find your feed back of value to the team. I will pass it on and with the new up-grades we are putting in place, I hope we have more lovely reviews like your one, to come. Regards Clare Ngatai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom motel unit with 3 adults and 1 infant. On arrival, we noted that there was one made up bed and the remainder of just a bottom sheet and a doona in the cupboard. With only 1 heater in the lounge and none in the bedrooms it made for a very cold night sleep. The cabin was older, but clean and functional. I really liked the communal steam oven, which uses the thermal heat from underground to cook your meal in steam. A novel idea which needs to be used for the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Hello, Thank you in your feedback. It is of value to all of us at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park.
I have been here a month now and we are in the process of up-grades.. Your review will be taken in for immediate consideration.

Again, Thank you. We can not improve out product without knowing what the guest need.

regards Clare Ngatai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed here earlier this year for my anniversary with my partner. We decided to stay here because of many referals from my co workers at Conroy Removals. We stayed in a cabin with onsuite. It was very sweet and comfortable - flat screen tv, fridge and a cute table and chairs. The bathroom was very small though but being young and not too fussy we didnt mind too much. Reception were friendly enough - not overly fantastic but they do have lots of brochures to take for activities and attractions around Rotorua. Loved the log cabin look and will definitely reccommend it to friends and family who dont want to break the bank on accommodation in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Get a log cabin WITH the onsuite. Wouldnt want to go without it..
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisisityou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

wow, what more could you ask for, a choice of cabins, tent sites, caravan sites, Thermal hot pools, walking distance to Thermal wonder land and only 5 min drive to city centre.
Its a must to do for family, friends, and independant traveller.

Room Tip: Log cabins are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Silverfern lodg... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed one night here on a campervan holiday and so used a powered site. There was an undercover walkway that ran the length of the parking spots for campervans, which is a good idea for bad weather days.
The one thing I was definitely not impressed with were the bathroom facilities, which were easily the worst of our trip. They were in much need of a clean and updating. There was rubbish left in all of toilets and especially in one of the showers. The hair dryer stopped working after 1 minute of use. There were big cracks in the ceiling. Didn't feel at all comfortable in these bathrooms.
On the other hand, my partner said that the male toilets were much cleaner.
They also had a nice kitchen/dining area, although we didn't use these.
Good for location but the state of the facilities would have been reason for me to stay somewhere different if I had to stay another night.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the response - our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 3-star plus Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins, dorm rooms which can sleep 6 singles and spacious motorhome sites. We are pet friendly by arrangement, animals are welcome just not allowed in rooms due to Health and Safety. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, TV rooms, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing