We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for travellers on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good for travellers on a budget”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very cheap, but few luxuries, so plan for that. We stayed in a kitchen cabin. Rooms are small, but cosy, with a little kitchenette (has utensils and some appliances and things), table and chairs, and wardrobe as well as the beds . Matresses are quite short, so tall people may not like it. Great, friendly atmosphere and beautiful grounds. Clean bathroom and other facilities. It can get quite cold, so pack some warm clothes and bedding!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unevenstone92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello, the team at Rotorua Thermal holiday park really appreciate your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Handy Tip: we are Currently going threw upgrades on property and buildings... its very exciting and we hope to see you again.

Kindest regards Clare Ngatai (operations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    90
    73
    35
    28
See reviews for
112
88
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Enjoyed staying in the log cabins here, well priced, clean, warm. Facilities good. Free hot pools. and you can ride to the mountain bike tracks from the campground. What more do you need for a budget weekend away?

Room Tip: Stay in the log cabins, not the rooms with the kitchen.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello and Thank you. The team at Rotorua Thermal Holiday park enjoyed reading your feed back. It makes our day knowing we have happy campers living the park.

Kindest regards Clare Ngatai (operations manager) and the team from Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in a self contained cabin what a great deal very clean and perfect for a little get away. The park had its own hot pools which were fantastic. The place was across the road from the golf course which was a bonus.

Great value for money for under $100 dollars per night I highly recommend staying there.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnutstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello, Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Your feedback is of value to the Staff at Rotorua Thermal holiday park.\

The team are happy you enjoyed your stay, we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

kindest Regards Clare Ngatai (operations manager) and the team from Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived having looked on the website where it said a powered site cost $25 for the site (not per person) to be told that it cost $25 per person and that despite the fact the people in front of us were charged $32 it would be $36 for us (later lowered to $34 because the three woman working in the office couldn't decide how much it was supposed to cost). The lonely planet released in April of this year states $16 per person. There was no toilet paper in the ladies toilets either. Generally a pretty disappointing stay, wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MatiasCacciavillani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hello, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We have only just switched over using old reservation system to new, we also have increased rates due to increase in rates, water etc. Our rates have not moved for over 2 years. The ladies in reception are still unsure of rate increase and the booking you made may have been before the new system was put in place. Our new rates for non powered sites are $20 for one person and then $36.00 for two person. Our new web site will reflect the new increase. Lonely Planet book would have stated the old rates.

Our rates are still below average compared to other operators in Rotorua.

Regards Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We did the campervan thing in New Zealand, and this was one of our stops. This holiday park is part of the Kiwi Holiday Park system (which we found to be great). We were there in shoulder season, so the rate per night for a powered site and two people was $36.
I thought the site was fantastic. A big kitchen area (with split sections so a lot of people can cook at once), a nice little sitting area, clean showers/bathrooms.
The Kiwi sites have IAC internet, which is the best deal we found in the country ($5 for 24 hours access, up to 10 GBs).
They do have some thermal pools at this site, but we did not use them. Seems like everyone else was in and out of there though.

Te Puia Cultural Center is very close to this location. Also note that it's one of the furthest campervan locations from the lake/town itself.

The staff was very kind and helpful... we had van trouble one day and needed a phone for the campervan company / roadside assistance to call us back, and the Reception desk helped us out and let us stay a little later than check out so we could get the work on the van sorted out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AegisRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, office staff at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello, thank you for your feed back on our park. its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our office staff helped you out when you needed it.

thanks again for the review and hope you come back and try our hot pools next time.

thanks Morgan (office staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Unfortunately the Spring weather in Rotorua doesn't mean that all plants are in bloom. I could have done more research & prob end up staying at other places. Pluses is that it's near major tourist attractions + has a hot thermal pool but it's old & out-dated but does the job. If people are rating 'very good or excellent' then they must be backpackers who are used to cheap 3 star accomodation. Has good wifi even at caravan sites. Was cold in Oct so get a powered site for heating! We could have camped free at one of the conservation areas but we wanted to go to a show that night so stayed in town.

Room Tip: As mentioned in description...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney-Super_Tramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, office staff at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello, thank you for taking the time out to review our park, sorry that you where not completely satisfied with the park, we are however working on upgraded areas of the camp slowly but surely, so this feed back is helpful.

thanks
Morgan- office staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A great set up for a young family with the added bonus of hot mineral pools. The kitchen and dining area were fantastic with plenty of ovens and bench space. Dining room was perfect and a good way of meeting other guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, receptionist at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hi there

thanks for taking the time out to review our park. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed the way our kitchens are set up, and got to meet the other campers. These comments are great to know so that we can keep building on the experience for the campers that come though, so again thank you for the feed back.

Regards
Morgan, Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Property: Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 3-star plus Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins, dorm rooms which can sleep 6 singles and spacious motorhome sites. We are pet friendly by arrangement, animals are welcome just not allowed in rooms due to Health and Safety. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, TV rooms, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing