We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabin confusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hi we had great service from reception re leaving for a appointment & having to move cabins after 2 nights, we had to move as the one we where in had been booked for our last nights i asked twice at reception if we could stay in our orginal cabin but they said it was booked, after moving which was a bit of stress, I wondered, why when we woke up nobody had stayed in our orginal cabin!!!!, which was far superior than 1 one we had to move too. why did we have to move??

Room Tip: cabins with a kitchen & shower tiolet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management and we are about to undergo a new transformation so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

The whole reason we booked this site was to use the hot pools - upon arrival we were advised that they weren't working. By the look of the signs around the site, this was not new news, but we hadn't been advised when booking. Facilities were dated, dirty and insufficient - there were about 20 toilets in the ladies' main block but only 2 showers....

The worst campsite we stayed at in our 3 weeks in NZ. Shame, because the grounds themselves are a nice setting.

We did get an apology e-mail when we got back, but no offer of discount/refund.

On a positive note, good breakfast in the on-site café.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management and about to undergo a large transformation so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We have killed a lot of cockroaches and we haven't even gone to bed yet!.... can't find anyone to talk to about the infestation because we were a late arrival. Our cabin is so dirty, has cracks in the walls and a front door that doesn't shut properly. If we could leave & get a refund now we would.... let's see what they say in the morning, oh and what the Department of Health has to say. I wish I had read the trip advisor reviews before booking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Sorry to hear your stay was not up to your satisfaction. We are how ever a park surrounded by native bush and trees. Your cabin you stayed in, the KCabs are the older units which are tucked away next to fully grown trees. The park is the oldest park in Rotorua with protected Native trees which are marked by the conservation act as untouchable. Meaning, we can not chop them down with out permits. The Bugs are attracted to our native bush.
The Bugs you are complaining about are Native to New Zealand and commonly called Native Bush Cockroach.
Our property gets inspected once a month by Pest Control and we keep records of sightings in our record book. To date we have had no normal household cockroach infestation, no sightings of rodents and are currently due for our 6 monthly spraying, this prevents spiders which are also native to NZ building webs in our communal areas.
Pest Control took a look at the bugs you found and confirmed them to be our little Native Bush species.
These small cockroaches are NZ natives. They are found in logs and leaf litter, under loose bark. Most of the species favours damp, dark habitats. They are not a household pest.
our little friends are exploring there surroundings at present due to branches dropping with full leaf growth and touching the buildings. This enables the bugs to explore more then the tree.
With School holidays over, we are currently under way of cutting back our over growth.

In regards to other trip adviser feed back, yes we are getting bad feed back on No hot pools, this again is out of our control. Currently we are waiting on council consent to allow us to go ahead with putting in another pump to drain the water from under ground to the hot pools. While we await approval and pump, we are currently upgrading the pools with painting and new safety mats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and it was definitely the worst camp site we have ever stayed in. I booked this place specifically because it is advertised as having a heated pool and it's own thermal pools, I would not have booked it otherwise! Went to check in only to be told that the thermal pools were not working!! Honestly, did it not cross there minds to send a courtesy email or phone call to inform us? I was so disappointed after having travelled there to find that the main reason for going was not available. I notice from another review that other guests were offered 10% refund because of this but we were not! The tent area was not even flat! Each tent was pitched at an angle which was pretty uncomfortable! Far too many slopes to be camping in a tent! Also unable to charge anything as there are no powerpoints in the guest "lounge". Bathrooms were grim! Full of insects (I know it's camping but most places tend to keep doors closed to avoid this) also the main block had 2 showers in the ladies!!! I had to wait literally hours to have a shower at "peak" time. The heated swimming pool was freezing and there were no changing rooms that we could find. This was also full of insects and no chairs or sunloungers available. All in all a terrible experience, we will not return, ever.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank harriet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback. Due to our thermal pools being naturally heated we do occasionally have problems with the thermal activity - unfortunately this is something we are unable to control. We have spent a lot of money on our pump station to rectify this - as mentioned our Holiday Park is under new management and about to undergo major renovations. I apologise your experience was less than satisfactory as there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We chose this campsite based on location (near to mountain bike trails) and the availability of the on site thermal pools. Only after we booked and paid for two nights were we told the thermal pools were closed for the weekend but the heated swimming pool was still available. We parked up our motorhome and headed for the pool. It was freezing. There were lots of groups of teenagers on the site making it noisy. The bathrooms were adequate. The washing lines were laying on the ground broken. So we went back to the office and cancelled one of the two nights and got our money back. The onsite café was good to feed the kids, while mum and dad got a spicy takeaway from town. Really nothing to recommend this site. The reception appeared to be run by teenagers with little knowledge or even interest in what they were doing. Our second night elsewhere was much better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is under new management and we are about to undergo major renovations so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Arrived at the holiday park and found our room was double booked, lucky for my girlfriend we were
upgraded for our first night. Moved back to our original room the next night (deluxe kitchen cabin) and found it was a great size, comfy bed, all necessary kitchen equipment and overall fantastic room for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Reception at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

hello

thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed you're stay here at our holiday park. sorry for the confusion with your room being double booked but we are glad to know you were upgraded.
we are trying very hard at this time to maintain customer satisfaction standards and your reveiw is really appreciated.

regards
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a log cabin with our 2 children, facilities were very basic, had to pay a bond to get better duvets from office as ones in cabin didn't fit the beds properly. There aren't enough showers and u have to wait along time which isn't ideal with small children and the reason we booked here was because of the mineral pools and on checking in found that they were closed for the duration of our stay!
We would t return to this holiday park, for the money spent there are better places to go :(

Stayed: January 2014
Thank townsendfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - we are under new management and our Holiday Park is about to undergo major renovations so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
0.9 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 3-star plus Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins, dorm rooms which can sleep 6 singles and spacious motorhome sites. We are pet friendly by arrangement, animals are welcome just not allowed in rooms due to Health and Safety. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, TV rooms, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing