We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollo Hotel Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accolade Lodge Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Court Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
46
100
80
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
100
80
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolscovered walkwaycommunity kitchentent sitesmountain bikingte puiaself contained unitbunk bedskitchen facilitiesstayed for nightsnice staygreat place to stayensuitebeddingprivacybathsluge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The camping area was very pretty and had excellent access to the kitchen, eating area, a separate computer/sitting room and toilets/showers. The kitchen was clean and functional, and the indoor tables provided a nice place to eat but not always to try to have a conversation because of the TV. I would like to discourage holiday parks from putting the TV in the same room as the eating area--it dominates everything and lessens the experience dramatically for those who are just trying to have a meal, make travel plans, or have a conversation.

We were very disappointed to learn that the hot pools were not working--they would have really helped us survive the night in our tent, as it was quite clear and cold that night. The location of this holiday park to Te Puia and Whakarewarewa is very handy, but the proximity to geothermal activity also has its downside. At one point in the night I was awakened by a sulfur smell so strong that I had to breathe through my sleeping bag to make it at all tolerable; whether or not breathing these gases is healthy, it was extremely unpleasant. (I should say that I have spent plenty of time around geothermal areas all over the world and am familiar with and quite tolerant of the basic odor of these places; this, on the other hand, was extreme.) Thankfully, it was also temporary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is about to undergo a huge renovation so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin for 3 nights. .. may as well have slept on the concrete outside which would have been more comfortable. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone other than as a campsite. It's right in the stinkiest part of Rotorua also. All in all id rather spend more money and stay somewhere nicer. Wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pussca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is now under new management and about to undergo a major renovation overhaul. If you are back in Rotorua come and check us out this summer as most of the upgrade should be near completion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location of this camp site is great and the price you pay for this is very reasonable. We rented a 2 berth cabin, which had all the basics that we required for 2 nights. There is no fridge in the cabin if you are considering staying longer. The lady at reception was extremely helpful and polite. It was a shame that the pools were not working while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is now under new management with a large upgrade about to take place so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i have to say our stay at Rotorua Thermal Holiday park was good they were able to accommodate us. we stayed in one of the cabins and was able to park our car and trailer up on one of the power sites and let us run power for a battery charger. i think the only thing that let it down was we had a kitchen deluxe cabin but there was no fridge in there, what was the point of having a kitchen when you still had to walk over to the main kitchen to get the milk you had in the fridge or go buy a small amount just for your coffee. the kids enjoyed the pool just a pitty the hot pools were not working, the staff at recpection were friendly and easy to deal with.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management with a new park upgrade about to start so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hi we had great service from reception re leaving for a appointment & having to move cabins after 2 nights, we had to move as the one we where in had been booked for our last nights i asked twice at reception if we could stay in our orginal cabin but they said it was booked, after moving which was a bit of stress, I wondered, why when we woke up nobody had stayed in our orginal cabin!!!!, which was far superior than 1 one we had to move too. why did we have to move??

Room Tip: cabins with a kitchen & shower tiolet
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management and we are about to undergo a new transformation so there are exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews