We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible beginning to New Zealand”
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildwood Lodge
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Can not say enough nice things about the hospitality of Cath and Simon, combined with the beauty of their property and home, the incredible appetizers, dinners, and plentiful breakfasts. We enjoyed talking with Cath and Simon, who made us feel so welcome in their home. They set the bar so high with their perfection that it is hard to find any place else that will compare. Great advice on what to do in the area, even shuttled us to and from a local forest walk. Hosts extraordinaire, set in the perfect location, with gorgeous rooms and a private orchard that we were welcome to stroll through. Traveled with another couple and we both decided at the end of our New Zealand holiday that we wanted to move to Wildwood Lodge permanently!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sooz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thank you Cath and Simon, the best ever, what a super couple, so friendly, doing everything possible to make our stay the best ever, Cath gave us the perfect tips about what to do in and around Roturoa, of course we had our Lonenly Planet but Cath's tips were fantastic.
I personally do not like to have dinner with people I do not know, but it turned out to my biggest surprise that every evening was very interesting, listening to each others stories and the stories from the country's were the other 4 guests came from, WW Lodge has 3 rooms, beautiful spacious bedrooms with fantastic views, super clean and fantastic food, love to go back…….
Great wines great food.

Room Tip: I suppose all rooms are great, we had our room at the house ground floor, great terrace from our ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late March 2012 as part of our honeymoon. Simon and Cath are the perfect hosts. The place is absolutely stunning with the views out of the lake breathtaking.

Everything we could possibly have wanted was catered for. The meals were superb and Simon and Cath knew exactly when to engage with us and when to give us our privacy. They're both great company and thanks to Cath I went away with a large list of new books to get my teeth into.

Really couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This property is beautiful, in a gorgeous setting amid landscaped gardens and on the shores of Lake Rotoehu. We were given a complimentary upgrade to the Guest House, a very nice accommodation with a host of amenities, including a lounge area with sound system and library, large deck with a great view of the lake, private spa pool, great king bed, and more. Free WI-FI is available if you must communicate with the outside world. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful tranquil setting, you will enjoy staying here. Check out the video tour on their website to see what the property looks like.

Simon and Cath Robertson are the owners. They are the nicest people one could ever hope to meet and gracious in a natural and genuine sense. The hospitality here is wonderful. Every detail is thought of in advance, so you feel like they were truly preparing just for you. My husband had a great time on his trout fly fishing trip with Simon as the guide. While the guys were out fishing I stayed behind to catch up with laundry and Cath made sandwiches for me even though lunch was not included in the room rate. We thoroughly enjoyed the canapés and dinners that Cath served along with the generous portions of wine and spirits. We watched “the royal wedding” together in their media room and got a kick out of their great sense of humor. When we left, it was as though we were leaving longtime friends rather than a couple running a business.

We have very fond memories of our stay at Wildwood Lodge and would not hesitate to recommend this property to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Cath and Simon have fashioned a stylish and very homely lodge surrounded by lovely, private gardens - and in one of the prettier locations in the Rotorua area on Lake Rotoehu. The rooms, hospitality and meals were first class, with very kind, friendly and helpful hosts who know the area comprehensively. Another fantastic find in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed here over Christmas 2009 on our 4 week tour around New Zealand.
The property has 3 guest rooms. Two are in the main lodge, but we stayed in the separate "Guest House" which has a totally private outdoor hot tub.

Cath and Simon are the most gracious and welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel totally at home.

The whole property is immaculate and stylishly decorated, like something from the pages of an interior design magazine. Cath has exceptional taste!

Food and drinks are included and Cath is an excellent cook preparing sumptuous breakfasts, four course dinners and afternoon cakes.
Simon has a very well stocked wine cellar and runs fishing trips on the lake.

The location is stunning. Right on the lake shore 15 mins drive outside Rotorua. The property has a private lakeside beach, an orchard, a pond and lawns.

There is total peace and privacy but it is still close enough to the Rotorua attractions, shops, bush walks and less than an hour from the beaches on the Bay of Plenty.

The highlight for us was a helicopter flight to White Island (an active volcanic island in the Bay of Plenty).
Cath orgainised the trip - she obviously does this often and knows all the pilots. The helicopter landed on the lawn to pick us up and we had the most wonderful morning on the island before all the tourist boats arrived. Cath ensured we had a light breakfast before the flight and a hearty brunch when we got back. She took photos of us taking off and arriving back and gave us a CD of the pictures before we left - fantastic!

We had free use of their computer for internet access (which we could take into the Guest House), free phone calls to relatives in California and the UK (very handy over Christmas). Cath did some washing for me and baked muffins for us to take to the beach on Christmas Day. She gave us shopping tips and ideas for the rest of our trip that were excellent and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and all included in the price.

Cath and Simon told us they were thinking of retiring, so time might be running out to enjoy their wonderful hospitality and stunning lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
16.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
15.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
13.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
15.3 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Address: Morehu Road | Rd4, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildwood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildwood is a lake edge property on the shores of Lake Rotoehu, and is set on over five acres of landscaped grounds with almost two hundred meters of private lake frontage, available only to guests. No other houses can be seen from anywhere on the entire estate, and all accommodation options have private balconies overlooking the lake and Hinehopu cliffs. Suites are 400sq ft and the guest house is 700sq ft, and all have baggage and dressing rooms, well appointed en suite bathrooms and oversize walk in showers. Wildwood offers a fully inclusive tariff with breakfast, dinner, wines and Wifi included in the rate, but a B&B option is available if preferred. Wildwood is situated a little out of town and away from the sulphur smells of the city. It is a 15 minute drive from the airport for those arriving by air, and we have on site helipad and float plane docking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing