We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the money”
Review of Green View Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green View Hotels
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good for the money”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

we only stayed one night, the room is spacious and clean with a small kitchen. decent bathroom. no internet and a bit noisy for the gas station next door, in general needs a renovation but for a short stay it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    29
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
29
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Rotorua Motor lodge for 8 days just recently and it was absolutely worth what we paid for. There was 6 adults so we had 2 studio rooms which were cleaned everyday. Fresh towels everyday and the owners were friendly as and very lovely people. I will def recommend this accommodation to others out there. If we ever need accommodation we will look them up for sure

Room Tip: Just let reception know what you need and they will help you the best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Rooms 25, 26, and 17. We were on a school camp, and overall impressed with the quality of the rooms and the cheap prices. Our students enjoyed the experience of staying in a motel, and were delighted to come home each day to fresh towels and sheets. The rooms were nice and clean, simply furnished, but perfectly adequate for our requirements. The pool and spa were great; the students stayed in until the pool closed each night. Despite warnings about road noise (earplugs provided, just in case), I slept the whole night through, and loved the comfy beds; I slept so well the students didn't even wake me with their talking :) The hosts were lovely, and very accomodating for our group; they organised the BBQ for our first night there, and went out of their way to find adjoining rooms so that our students would be together and safe. They also recommended "The Fish & Chip Shop" for dinner one night, and even had menus on hand to help us decide. They went out of their way to help us when a student came down sick, and even rearranged our day-trip booking to Hobbiton on our behalf. Also, the BP next-door for the morning coffee run was a lifesaver! We will certainly be heading back here for school camp next year.

Room Tip: We had rooms near the reception; very little road noise, and nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My adult daughter and I were impressed with the excellent quality of this place for a very reasonable price. The rooms were bright and cheerful with comfortable lounges, decent-sized table and a really good kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. I found the hosts friendly and really easy to chat to and have a laugh with. I really appreciated the fact that we could stay in a motel where my daughter could be in a separate room to me, because I snore and would have been stressed that I was keeping her awake. But no need; we both slept soundly in our separate areas. Excellent value for a very reasonable price; we will be back again next time we are in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stay at Room 25 for 2 nights in Feb and found it was quite noise because just right next to SH5, and the bathroom is not up to standard, the shower head splash water everywhere, but that is not the big deal. The problem we had started receive an email from the booking website asking for feedback and reviews and we provided our feedback, but the response from the motel operator is in a wrong attitude. See below with their response:

"A motor lodge not adjacent to a road would be a strange location don't you think?
The motel provides, for free, excellent ear plugs to alleviate any noise issues from within or without the rooms. The louvre windows allow very good air circulation, and guests who insist on showering with them closed can expect some dampness. There is no mould around the window, the guest is mistaken in this respect also. A shower which does not work should not produce any water methinks, and the purpose of a shower head is to spray water so all the body gets wet. We are an old building and there are improvements to be made when economics allow, but in the meantime new beds, TV, drapes, and very competitive prices more than compensate. This guest was lucky to get a room in a very busy week in Rotorua, and she judges us against superior places she may have enjoyed at much higher prices. Comparing apples with oranges is not just."

I had wrote a few reviews about this motel, but commerical booking website are normally protect their clients (the hotel/motel), so normally only good feedbacks will get displayed, so beware and hope this website won't do the same!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
The guest has published my response already but I will quote a comment from him.

'I am also working in the service industry and the first thing I learnt is never argue with your customer, especially when all correspondences are in private. You won't gain anything from that. The more you argue with them, the more negative feedbacks they will post to your business, and yes I will do the same.

So, good luck to your business and hope you learn from that!'

I will leave the readers of the review to form their own judgement of this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Six of us stayed in rooms 6 and 7 for two nights just recently and found the Lodge to be exceptional, as always, as this is not the first time we have stayed here. Our rooms were cleaned daily, with towels etc being replaced when necessary. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
We can see the improvements you have made since our last visit. Keep up the good work.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! (Which we have done to several of our friends in the past and will continue to do in the future) We will DEFINATELY be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Can not believe that Room 26 was so dirty. Seems that it has not been used for a while. Also saw a piece of used tissue on the floor of the bedroom when we arrived...

In the next morning, found heaps of dead insects around the sink of the bathroom...

Just totally different from the information that we have got from this website. Since I came to NZ in 1995, I have travelled around the country and have stayed at different motels, hotels, YHAs, B'B. Have not got experience like this.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
This review is so outrageously negative, and so contrary to our other reviews, that it is difficult to respond positively to a person who made no comments at the time and whose only specific complaint is of a tissue which must have been dropped accidentally by a cleaner. The flies flew into their window at night because they left the windows open! Are we to be damned for that? Nothing in our advertising is untrue or misleading, and for a budget establishment we deliver great value, as the other reviews do testify. We are sorry that this guest had such a 'bad' experience and would have preferred to have dealt personally with their 'issues'. Our compendium asks guests to do this before they release their opinions on the internet for eternity. Clearly this guest has little regard for a person's income and is happy to sabotage it without due consideration for the consequences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
2.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 92 in Rotorua
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green View Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green View Hotels

Property: Green View Hotels
Address: 418 Fenton Street | Whakarewarewa, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Rotorua Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green View Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel has 26 rooms and benefits from a position opposite Rotorua Golf Club (Arikikapakapa), a unique geothermal golf course. It is a short walk and in sight of the main geysers at Te Puia, and a short walk to Whakarewarewa Maori Thermal Village.All other attractions are short drives away, such as Skyline Gondola, Polynesian Spa, Rainbow Springs, Agrodome, OGO, Agriventures, Duck Tours, Buried Village, and the Blue Lake. The CBD is five minutes, the airport fifteen, and Taupo or Tauranga 50 minutes.Rooms are spacious and clean. Prices put this motel in the budget category, but facilities are closer to four star, and these include large 32 inch LCD TVs with Free View in all rooms, direct dial phones and FREE wireless internet.There is a seasonal pool, hot pools and laundry for guest use, and DVD players and movies to hire for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Green View Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing