We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty sweet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway International Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gateway International Motel
Ranked #85 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
1 review
“Pretty sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed there for a few days in a trip with some mates. Kitchen was fine to cook some snacks, room were clean.
Generally decent lodging with adequate facilities and service, basically you get what you pay for. Not really luxurious but good place for a quick stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you very much for taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway International Motel.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. We will continue to maintain good service to you our guests and making your stay here with us as comfortable as possible.

We are glad to see you had no issues and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    11
    4
    15
See reviews for
26
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

this motel is a great place to stay on a budget, the rooms were clean and contained full kitchen with everything we needed to cook, and spa, beds were comfortable,the motel is close to the center of the city, plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. we had no major issue with anything. we enjoyed our stay and would stay here next time i travel to rotorua.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank damsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you very much for taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway Motel.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome, comfortable and there stay here with us is as relaxing as possible.

Thank you for staying here with us at Gateway International Motel, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our booking was doubled up with another booking and a panicked staff member did not make us feel welcome like it was our problem. We then went to our room, which was not what we had paid for and had to wait for our room to be cleaned. The fridge was not on and the throws on the bed were less than appealing. Will not even start on the Mineral Pools. The phones did not work at all, and reception did not answer. The elevator phone did not work either. For the price, we could have stayed at a really nice place. This wasn't and was a complete and utter let down.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Firstly i would like to thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway International Motel.

Since seeing you back in July 2012, Gateway International Motel had just undergone new management. We had just taken over and being a new business owner everything was new to us, I am sure you would understand a few hiccups along the way were unavoidable on my behalf because of this reason and it caused these issues for you, i agree the situations definitely could have been handled a lot better and i dearly apologise.

Our units since have ALL had some kind of major upgrade and will be an on-going thing, newly redecorated, new carpeting, re-tileing, full fresh paint jobs in our units, brand new fridges, brand new linin, utensils and much much more.

Gateway Motel is now maintenanced on a regularly basis to carry out any faults found and are dealt with promptly. We have more cordless phones which are kept on us at all times to ensure we do not miss any calls. We aim to ensure any problems our guests have are dealt with promptly and in a professional manner.

Thank you again for your feedback. It all helps us to help you our guests have a comfortable, happy and relaxed stay here with us and that our standards meet you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#21 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Property: Gateway International Motel
Address: 263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway International Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing