We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway International Motel
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Central location we were able to walk to town centre, some tourist attractions and grocery shop, clean, warm rooms. Great to have basic kitchen facilities. Reception staff very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thanks for sharing you feeling here! Hope to see you next time! Hope you will get a beagle for your children in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Spent One night there in April 2013. Excellent clean room with small touches that added that little bit extra. One of the best prize winning food establishments just across the street. The on site spa was excellent and clean. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay there on our next visit. The Irby family, Burringbar Australia

Room Tip: Book early to ensure room availability as popularity increases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you so much for your good words. Looking forward to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a confirmed booking for 8 people in 2 rooms for 2 nights. However we were greeted with the news that only one of the rooms was available. But for a discount of $10 per room per night they could offer us a different room. Feeling dissatisfied and disappointed, but left with no other choice, but to take the offer we agreed. And were told please pay in advance. Suddenly a room more in keeping with our original booking was available, could we just allow 2 hours for it to be cleaned, grateful for the effort and discount. We left to fill in the time. On our return we were offered a 3rd room and asked to pay back the discount. After some negotiations the discount stood, as compensation for the delays. Thank you. Unfortunately problems continued to arise. Would I recommend to others most certainly not. Would we stay again never.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linpenfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

It is a shame that you put you feedback here. First of all, I have to see, yes we've confirmed two spa pool units for you and we couldn't offer the same rooms while you first arrive the office. However, it's sad to see you just put we didn't offer you the same room as we've talked through email. But you didn't say why and the end. It's my turn to tell what happenned.

We have three family units with spa pool. Two we've offerred to you and one for anther family. One unit should check out the day for you to check in. However, one of the lady was sick in the night and couldn't go. Meanwhile, her friend left in the morning since she got something to leave. I asked the lady in the morning before you come to move to other room. But she seemed so weak and didn't want to pick up and move at all. It would be very hard if I kept force her move to. So, we throught if you could take a room without spa pool so she would not need to move though. The reason of why I tried to discuss with you not the other family is you have two rooms. I thought mightbe ok for your to understand the situation and the children can use the spa pool in one room. And I would give you $20 (please check your statement not $10) per night ( totally $40) discount if you could help this situation. But I was completely wrong.

After telling you the situation at the office when you arrive, you were very angry and many times you use "no, shut up" "I am enough to you". Mind you, I never shout to my customer especially older than me. Then, I charged you $40 less than what you should to pay and let you go into the rooms. You were still very unhappy and even didn't look at me. I didn't want to you stay with unhappy. Then I talked to you again. I said of course it was our problem,but nobody could control their body all well and no sickness. This is an accident, if you really want a spa pool room, I would have to force that lady to move. You told me " I think that what you should to do".

Ok, I had nothing to say. I told the sick lady the stroy and she felt sorry but she could understand. Then my staffs helped her move to upstairs. While we were cleaning the room and the other family still on their way. So I gave the other unit's key to you that you would not need to wait the cleaning finish since the units are same. The only difference is room number. It was maximum 1 hour during you checked in. I asked you were you be able to pay me back the $40 shortage. You told me "you wrote the number on the invoice and I think that 's what I should pay you." " 2 hours we can't get in our rooms..." . Last time, I asked you "no body want to sick,do you want to sick?" Wow, I was really surprised that you said" I went to see doctor when I was sick..."

Ok,I think that's enough for the whole story. Again, I am sorry for muck you around. But I am not regret. We do have to care other people. However, I will do something for other people if I can when they need. I will much happyer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is my second visit of the place, after a few months since my first time.

needless to mention the manger is friendly and helpful.
we, family of 4 stayed for 2 nights during the school holiday in May.
Noticed the owner has put in effort on refurbishing this motel.
and the room rate is good too!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thanks for your time to putting feedback. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

For NZ$99 you can't go wrong. Bed was really comfy; room was clean. Outside private spa pool was hot and very relaxing, filled up in no time. Room was really warm (ground floor). Maybe not brand new but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. You encourage me to keep work hard on improving the rooms since I really enjoy the good feedback from my valuable customers. Thanks agian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night to break up the drive home. Trouble finding our booking. Friendly and apologetic. The room was beyond tired. Mouldy nets and curtains, missing curtain hooks made the curtains hang in big loops, main door curtain was to small for the door and left big gaps either end. No bedside cabinets or side tables, the phone was hung on the wall at approx 6 ft. The new fridge was wobbly, there was graffiti scratched into the paint work above the kitchen bench, the book of instructions was in badly translated Engrish. But it was comfortable, clean where it mattered.Free wi fi and spa pool in room. For the money we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwichatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thanks for your feedback. The reason of why I reply you now is I've fixed up the curtain, wall, the lights and put the new bedsider in the room. As I said in other review, we've get this motel last year, everything have to be updated. Usually, we make the budget for all of the rooms once. For example, we changed all of the old TV to flatscreen last year. Bought the bedsider in March. Check and redo lighting in April etc.
Sorry for the English wording. You know English is my second language, I try to speak and use English as more accurate as I can; however, you know I still can't do as good as you can do. Thanks for pointing out the problem and thanks for your time. We will working hard to make the room nicer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel is very nice and good to stay in it.the service is very good.even my family likes it because it gave us free wifi free dinner but we cook ourself actually the price was 245 but it gave us discont to 225.this is the 2nd time I voted.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garmadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#85 of 92 in Rotorua
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Address: 263 Fenton Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway International Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing