We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
19
19
14
6
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
19
14
6
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Arrived in Rotorua during a stormy night and now know why this was one of the few vacancies.
No water pressure.
Shower nozzle wouldn't stay up.
Stained and threadbare carpet.
Couldn't understand the staff-limited English.
Overall not very nice and not very clean.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CarlisaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Staffs are friendly and location is convenience.

But...
1. room is not clean. floor and wndow frames are dity as. bedding are not clean as well, couple of pillow cases have full of washing powerders on them, and bath towels have broken tissues stick on them.
2. room facilities are very poor and out of date. No fan or air-con ibn the room for summer time, and if you open the window then you will sleep with insects. The bathroom doesn't have exhaust fan, while we have show, it was like steaming in the room (don't think of open the window, we did try but the window's handle is already broken when we try to open it).. Also there is no towel rack in bathroom at all!! We couldn't find a place to put our towel and cloth for showing, in the end we have to place a dinning chair in the bathroon for it.
3. the wi-fi is useless, it's slow as nothing, you would not want to use it at all as it can't do anything for you.

Room Tip: not recommended
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyL1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Worst motel ever.. Booked for 2 nights because they had a mineral pool. No notice on website or at the office that 'pool out of service'. Room floor was sticky & condition of the room was very poor. Beds not made or room serviced properly for 2nd night stay.
Ruined a good 'hens weekend'.
Cost to attend local pool $150. Gateway International Motel offered a $20 refund. A slap in the face.
Was told you were laughing in your room so can't have been that bad. Well actually that's cos I was with my girls & we always have a good time, no matter what's going on.
Was advised we should have discussed the pool at arrival (830pm) & not left it till the next day. We weren't using it on arrival so why mention it then?
When i complained on Saturday nothing was done or mentioned that we could cancel our 2nd night but once we paid up & made a wrirtten complaint that was their response.
☆☆☆ Would not recommend staying at Gateway International to my worst enemy

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wendyk2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Dirt and grit under the bed, floor in kitchen sticky. Cigarette butts in the spa tub that is not even in use in the room. Curtains are stained and too small for the rails which leaves a gap when fully closed, so no privacy as people can see inside. A door missing for the corridor. No soap in the bathroom. Dishwashing liquid almost emply. Floor vynil ripped. Holed in bathroom wall. No power plugs near the bed. Sadly it being a public holiday, everythong else is fully booked so we don't have the luxury to leave. For $170 per night, we got screwed, and not in a nice way either.

Room Tip: Find another motel!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ToddN102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

The room was looking shabby and the bathroom had mould. We paid $22 each for a continental breakfast upon booking the room, and on arrival they had full breakfast for less money and we were unable to change to the full breakfast. The continental breakfast looked 'tired', as if it was yesterday's food, and I only ate cereal & toast, so turned out quite expensive.
The staff were nice and friendly.
No lift, but our case was carried upstairs, but we had to carry it back downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews