We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner out”
Review of Solace Cafe & Restaurant - CLOSED

Solace Cafe & Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated a short stroll away from Lake Rotorua, Solace Cafe & Restaurant is the best kept secret in town. Solace Cafe & Restaurant offers diners a modern, warm and inviting atmosphere for relaxing with family and friends. Specialising in gluten free food, the menu is an eye opening introduction to great New Zealand cuisine, and features fresh New Zealand beef and seafood options. Bookings are highly recommended. Fully licensed and BYO. Open 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited Solace for dinner on Saturday night. We had good service, although did have to call the waitress to take our orders having been there for a wee while. The restaurant was not that busy, but she might have been distracted. I had a light meal and an entrée, both very enjoyable. My husband chose the chicken stack, was it value for money, no we didn't think so. He also said the chicken was very very dry. He did enjoy trying my meals and thought I choose far better than he did. Would we return mmmmmmmmmm not sure.

I have written a previous review on a lunch we had there and could not fault it. This time we were disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieAnnNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    95
    51
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua NZ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A pizza to live for!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I visited Whangerei some months ago, and we look forward to our next trip up North if only to dine again at the Solace Restaurant. The food, service and decor are outstanding, set by the harbour it is ideal. I liked the choice of outside or inside seating. We especially liked the way they serve up a pizza, it was the best we have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiliwilinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Eat Street restaurant”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Tutanekai St in Rotorua has a block that is free of traffic and full of eateries. Solace is on this block.
It appeared to be the quieter of the restaurants. As the evening progressed Solace became busier with quiet mature diners! The staff were friendly and helpful and our meals were very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The food was great. The staff could be more friendly though. They served the food on time and it was delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ehsanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to Solace was exactly a year to the day of our first and we received the same great service and food. Nice friendly vibe and attentive service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solace Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing