We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Cats, then you'll like this”

The Caterpillar Experience
Ranked #77 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Attraction details
Tempe AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like Cats, then you'll like this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I decided to visit this museum because it was on the list of stops for the hop-on/hop-off bus. But I'm not really into earth movers, so it was only mildly interesting. They said it would take a good hour to go through it, but I was finished in 30 minutes.

Helpful?
Thank Linn1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Museum if you like Caterpillar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This place has an amazing collection of very old equipment, some of which has been restored and other which are exactly as they wer found with dirt still on the tracks. There's a lot of history, stories, photos, videos and other artifacts here as well. The only thing I could fault them on was price, which was 20NZD per adult.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Theoden9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moerewa, NZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

For something different the world’s first display of historical Caterpillar earthmoving equipment. Not to everyone’s taste, but great to see old Caterpillar equipment. I was here for the first time 11 Jan 2012, and I will be going back. Along with the old equipment there is also archival footage which plays continuously in 4 separate areas that you can sit and watch I spent an hour there which passed very quickly. Entrance Fee $20.00 worth it in my mind.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for kids and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband loved it as he is in the machine industry. The kids loved it as they could play on some of the machines.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chonnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Caterpillars Galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

brilliant information about how it was done way back when. Videos are excellent. well set out layout. easy to get around. Plenty of seating for elderly or disabled.. staff are wonderful. a great day out.

Helpful?
Thank switchie_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Caterpillar Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Caterpillar Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing