We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steadily Improving and Staff great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Reviewed 21 October 2013

For the last decade or so we spend a night here to soak in the hot pools after a weeks trout fishing before flying out of NZ.

The new owners have been there a couple of years now and bit by bit they are renovating and renewing and it is starting to show the benefits. The staff there last weekend were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the "House" which can sleep about 12 with 4br's and 4 bathrooms. Multiple TV's, good kitchen/dining area and a mostly private garden and deck with BBQ right next to the river and outdoor hot pool. Good value for money and the place is clean and spacious.

Close enough to walk to town and big thermal parkland across the road as well as local shops etc. You can even catch a trout in the river outside the motel.

All in all .... for the price, it is pretty good value and as I said in the title - they are renovating and renewing and deserve some credit for that

We will be back net year.

Room Tip: The big house is great for a family or 2 or just a bunch of friends
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgb-agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I know that some of the other reviews are bad, but we've actually stayed here twice now for big family trips. The place is no five star hotel but it is what it is. The pictures on their website is pretty much spot on. The rooms aren't flash, but it does the job. Beds a confortable, rooms are clean. plenty of parking, and the ones we stayed in both had LCD tv's, and one had wifi.

Its a good place to all to get together, drink, have a swim. etc.

I think if they just renovated a bit, a bit of paint and repair here and there, and free wifi in all the rooms. get rid of all the cubboards, as you don't need them and then they don't need cleaning. then this could be a top place.

Would I stay here again. Definitely.

Room Tip: The two story house has better access to the pool. But the single 4 bedroom one has free wifi.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capta1nAwes0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This motel is quite old which I don't mind. But the fact that the unit we stayed in was really filthy was totally unacceptable. There is no way it had been vacuumed, the edges of the shower, skirtings, window ledges, inside of doors were REALLY dirty. Some of the grime was so thick we had to scrap it off to get to paint underneath (grime was dark brown with white paint underneath). Old itinerary left on couch from prior people, 2 dirty toothbrushes lying down side of bathroom vanity, bathroom vanity drawers so dirty you would not ever want to put anything inside them. Curtains fell down when closed. When you opened kitchen cupboards they stunk of old rotten wood!! Two operating hot pools with scum around the edge. As for bird aviary??? Couldn't find that!
This place must eventually go broke because I cant see how they could ever get repeat business. Should be taken out of any travel listings.

Room Tip: Dont choose any!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We paid only $50 for the night but even for that amount we were not impressed. The carpet was old and marked and had a terrible smell and the flooring in the bathroom was coming away from the edges everything is very tired and needs updating the whole complex is "shabby" and run down. The sheets and towels were clean and the bed comfortable but all the other funishings were old and past their use by date. The owners need to do some maintenance to bring this complex up to standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGGNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stated over in December 2013, and that was the very first time I found such a disgusting place! And the owner perfectly knows the state of his motel, but is taking the more money he can from gullible tourists. Description of tourist guides for this motel is old fashion, with hot natural hot pools, but... they do not speak of the dirt and general estate of the motel. Bad smells, carpet stained and black of grime, washbathing dirty, dirty curtains, and so on... one spoon for 4 people. In addition, it is close to a main road with traffic. Windows are not double glazed windows. We preferred to have our breakfast out, like we did for dinner on our arrival - was too late to move to another motel!
There was not point to spend a 2nd night in such a place, we preferred to loose money (the owner refused to reimburse us despite his place looks much more like a slum than a motel, and arguing of 48h of cancellation policy which we were not noticed over the phone), and we move to Fenton street: There is no lack of motels there at the same price, in better condition. You can even go across the street at the Bella Vista, and get a good rate if you make your booking in advance!
The worst experience I ever had in my life for that price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Read the previous reviews, took relevant info and discarded the trash. the place is tired but very functional. The unit was clean, the fridge was cold the water hot and the oven clean as well. The sheets were absolutely fantastic. There was plenty of room for out 2 children and we had kids tv channels and free wifi. There were 2 of the 5 thermal hot pools operational due to repairs but both were great, one hotter than the other so our kids could enjoy as well. It's true that other hotels charge by the 1/2 hr for the use of the thermal pool but not so for us. If your used to 5 star accommodation then this is not for you but if your after cheap, clean and a little old fashioned then this place is a winner. The relatively new owners were very helpful and stayed open for an extra 90 mins for us as we were late. We will be staying there again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed there for around a week, The wi-fi was free and not limited like other motels. The couple who run it are quite nice as well. It's obviously a budget accommodation option and the decor is dated but overall it's a decent motel and i would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BBPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £24 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing