We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS PLACE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night....and we will NEVER be back! We got there quite late at night, and if I wasn't so buggered I would've asked for my money back and gone somewhere else.
We paid $150 for 1 night.
The grounds were terrible with the pavers all falling to bits. Our room was not vacuumed, the wallpaper falling off the walls in the bathroom, the shower floor tiles all slimy.
used tissues put back in the box. Rubbish on top of the fridge.
And to top it off pubic hair in the sheets when I went to get into bed!
For the next few hours people coming and going, slamming doors and singing, then over at the pool drinking (and making a mess as we discovered in the morning)
Just all round filthy place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! Wish I had taken photos to upload :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louloubellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    10
    8
    16
See reviews for
26
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I first stayed here 30 years ago. part of the charm of the place was its rustic nature. The place was well maintained, clean, tidy and homely.

Now: the unit we stayed in was dirty: mould growing on windows and in grouting between tiles. Vauuming not well done, utilities not clean. The grounds were unkempt and quite a lot of rubbish/ junk laying around. The motel office is a disgrace. Ceiling coming adrift, mirrors not clean ...
Bedding was insufficient for this time of the year.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 292Pedro21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I want to write something positive about this place but unfortunately I can't. The place is old, run down and filthy. To top it off the unit we stayed in was infested with mice. Understand that the owners need to earn a crust but this is a disgrace!

Owner, to his credit, gave us a discount when we complained but I would not recommend staying at this property.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went for one night stay on this Easter Friday. To our greatest disappointment, we were given Rm 9 which smells strongly of mould. Carpet is dirty, sliding door is covered with green mould, curtains are filthy. We complained to the Korean owner, but he told us he has the best cleaner. Actually the smell was so strong that I started to feel itchy in my throat. We had to move to the next door motel at extra expense. And the owner of this Utuhina motel is not going to refund us.
I won't recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a shame to see what has become of this motel. We have stayed there twice in the past, when it was under the previous management (so can compare).

Part of the allure of this place was it's age, the specialty individual pools and the access to Utuhina stream in the hope of landing a trout. Now, under this management, only its age is apparent, and not in a good way.

Firstly, the rooms are dirty ... filthy bathrooms (grime around toilet cistern buttons, thick grime around base of shower cubicle and clumps of old dirt in window frames), stains on bedspreads, dirty dusty curtains, windows you could barely see out of ... you get the picture. The kitchen was in similar condition with one cupboard door hanging half off, stained & gray tea towel, one ancient sugar spoon served as the sole teaspoon and it had some blue gunge stuck on the back of it (!), nothing matched and the microwave was so greasy on the outside that we didn't even want to touch it to open it.

The balcony was dirty, unkempt and virtually unusable and through the ring lock wire the vista is of an overgrown riverbank which denies guests the advertised chance of casting a line for a fish.

Positive points are that the hangi box still works and the only 2 pools that are open are real thermal water and although not pristine, they are a treat to lie in. Having now read the other recent reviews here, it is obvious that the amazing individual mineral baths are not just closed for "the day" for cleaning but have been locked up for some time. Hence, the advertising is misleading and should be seen as a heads up for the rest of a travellers experience.

We came away very saddened by this most recent visit and have decided to stay somewhere else next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Two of us stayed in November for two nights. The room was large and clean and th hot pool was great.
However, the French windows did not shut properly, the kitchen cupboard door was broken and there was only one large plate and no teaspoons. We were given another plate on request and he also gave us a jam spoon to use as a teaspoon! The owner was friendly and helpful and willing to assist. We would stay again, but hope that some cosmetic improvements would be made.

Room Tip: Large, clean but needs attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at home
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

For the last decade or so we spend a night here to soak in the hot pools after a weeks trout fishing before flying out of NZ.

The new owners have been there a couple of years now and bit by bit they are renovating and renewing and it is starting to show the benefits. The staff there last weekend were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the "House" which can sleep about 12 with 4br's and 4 bathrooms. Multiple TV's, good kitchen/dining area and a mostly private garden and deck with BBQ right next to the river and outdoor hot pool. Good value for money and the place is clean and spacious.

Close enough to walk to town and big thermal parkland across the road as well as local shops etc. You can even catch a trout in the river outside the motel.

All in all .... for the price, it is pretty good value and as I said in the title - they are renovating and renewing and deserve some credit for that

We will be back net year.

Room Tip: The big house is great for a family or 2 or just a bunch of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgb-agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
#8 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Backyard Inn
The Backyard Inn
#49 of 57 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Property: Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing