We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dinner ”
Review of Sabroso

Sabroso
Ranked #7 of 286 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sabroso offers a broad taste of Latin America, serving everything from tasty tapas to homestyle Mexican specialities and traditional South American dishes. The beverage menu features our signature margaritas along with affordable South American wines. In short – unpretentious dining for those who love great flavours. The atmosphere is casual and fun, and the food and drinks are delicious!
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal here. We opted to get three entrees and share one main as everything on the menu looked good. The fish taco we ordered I was nervous to try but ended up being my favourite of the night. Make sure you book before going as the place filled up pretty quickly.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Briony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Best restaurant meal in 2017!

We eat out quite a lot and travel and eat outside of NZ quite frequently and want to say that Sambrosa in Rotorua is a not so hidden gem. Fantastic food, amazing service and a place not to be missed! For those that love people who prepare food for people with flavour, experience and love, it is a culinary experience not to be missed. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank tonynjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Love the food, the cosy atmosphere and the friendly staff. Great service, great price and lots of delicious food to choose from on their menu.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank WelshGirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We have been traveling in New Zealand for two weeks. This is definitely the best meal that we had in New Zealand. My wife is an extremely picky eater. When she saw the menu at the restaurant, she indicated that she did not see anything she wanted or would like. As it turns out, not only did she like her meal but also liked mine. The waitress and the owner are extremely friendly. We were lucky enough that we decided to eat early as the restaurant was booked for the night. Definitely suggest making a reservation.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

How many restaurants on the planet have to hang out a sign saying "Sorry all booked out!!" Sabroso does because the food is so great! If you can't pick - go for the verde but you have to ask about the specials... always YUM!!
Both Sarah's at front of house have a special formula for the BEST margarita! Ask for Iain's formula but be prepared to wobble a bit home! Sabroso - it's Mexican for Perfection!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 505iainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabroso also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Sabroso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing