We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good, nothing bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rock Solid Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“All good, nothing bad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Don't be fooled by it's not too beautified exterior building. The hostel inside is very spacious, has super friendly staff and in a spot on location! Helped patiently with my booking of some activities. Lounge area was relaxing and so comfy! Definitely worth your buck!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabWCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Kia ora

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with Rock Solid and Rotorua and appreciate that you didn't judge this book by its cover!

We wish you safe travels and amazing experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    94
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
65
114
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hey Guys!
It was my first experience with a Backpackers and when all are as good as this one it`s going to be a nice trip!
The house is totally clean and the staff is super friendly. It was every time nice to come into the lounge and play a bit (free) biliard. the view out of the lounge is aswell pretty cool! you can watch people climbing and when you are keen you can go downstairs and climb as long as you want for 12$.
the backpackers has a lot of connections to local activitys. if you are interested in sports definitly go mountin biing in the red woods! that was awesome!
we liked the backpackers so much that we just stayed 2 nights longer!
i´ll come back there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Onno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy that we could be there at the start of your trip. We are glad that you enjoyed our service and facilities and that you were able to enjoy our fantastic city and ALL it has to offer. The biking through the Redwoods is one experience everyone should try. Pool table, table tennis, climbing wall...you hardly even have to leave our lounge! We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and we would love to have you visit us again! The Team at Rock Solid!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Rock Solid Backpackers is a great place. I would absolutely stay again if I return to the Rotorua area. Facilities are extremely clean, beds are comfortable and free wifi doesn't hurt either. The only complaint I would have is that there are limited power outlets in the rooms. Nothing a bit of planning can't resolve. Beyond that, the rates are EXTREMELY reasonable. The staff couldn't be friendlier. They remember everyone's name, where they're from and help plan (and book) trips/tours for their guests.

I highly recommend this location for anyone considering a hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHiggs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very very much for your feedback and comments. One of our biggest areas of focus is the service we provide our customers. We love our community and all it has to offer and are proud to promote all there is to see and do! Since we all call this our home, we are glad you were able to feel comfortable here too... We will discuss the additional power points in the rooms with our maintenance team and perhaps schedule that for our next round of renovations. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand and we hope to see you again sometime in the future! Your Rock Solid Whanau (family)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having looked around at several backpackers in Rotorua central, Rock Solid Backpackers was not just the cheapest but also best value and service. The lady running the counter was lovely, giving us vouchers for activities in Rotorua and the facilities were clean and inviting. While it was unfortunate for us that the only parking was on the street, the added bonus of being so close to town and a short walk to most food places outweighed that.

Extremely friendly, great value and perfectly located, we would whole-heartedly recommend this backpackers to anyone going to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Louise. Thank you for your feedback. It was great to accommodate you and your group and we are glad you were able to enjoy our facilities. It was also fantastic to see some your group were busy climbing the wall shortly after arriving! Our team is very focused and proud of our facilities so we are so happy that you found our Whare (home) clean and inviting! And we are also proud of our community so that is reflected in the focus on our service. Seeing that you are only an hour or two away, we would love to have you back again sometime - it is always fantastic to provide for our fellow Kiwis as well as our valued over-seas guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very kind staff! Good location and clean. We loved our stay.
The only down side are the mattresses in foam that make's it a little uncomfortable.
The owner make's sure that you feel welcome and is a great help for information on thing's to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicsteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have worked hard to ensure that we provide exceptional service so we are glad that you were well looked after! And our location is fantastic here in the center of Rotorua giving you easy access to transportation and activities. We are sorry that you found the bed a little uncomfortable. We have ordered new mattresses for our double room since the day of your feedback. We hope that you are able to come again and visit soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels around our beautiful country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for four days and arriving there was very nice. They show you around and give it a more personal touch by calling peolple by their name. Also try to involve everybody with games in the evening or movienight. Little snack now and then. That is really nice. You get free wifi vouchers.big bonus i think. And the reception/lounge area has a nice view at the wallclimbing next door, wich you can do with discount. Enough toilets and showers and clean. Room was clean and had lockers inside. Kitchen is big. The lounge area has a big tv screen but can only watch dvd and closes at 10 pm so you can either go to youre room or to the kitchen area, but when you sleep across the kitchen it can get noisy even with the kitchendoor closed. Same for the walls in the room, can hear everything next door. Location is very good. Ten minutes to supermarket and five to I-site.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Rose. Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and found everything clean and tidy. And your feedback on the service and friendliness of our staff is wonderful to hear. Our focus is to ensure that EVERY guest enjoys their experience. While we do make guests aware that quiet time is after 10 pm, we will be putting a greater emphasis on this following your comments. In addition, our maintenance team is reviewing a method of sealing the closed kitchen doors to contain any noise. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I just happened to be looking for a hostel for the night and used the GPS to locate the nearest hostel. The GPS picked a great place! From the moment I arrived the staff (Rae in particular) was so accommodating and helpful. She took me on a tour of the facility and showed me every type of room that I could choose to stay in. She even helped me book an activity for later in the evening and when the staff from the tour company messed up my booking, she and Barry made sure that it was amended quickly. Rae always referred to me by my name every time she saw me; it really made me feel looked after and welcomed. The facility was very clean, spacious and welcoming with its bright colors. While I did not use many of the facilities, they did look clean and up to date. The prices were excellent for the dorms as well as free wifi or only $2 for one hour of internet on their computers (cheapest I found in my whole stay in NZ). It is conveniently close to the supermarket and restaurants. Small charge to hire a towel or blanket for the night if you don't have one. If you're lucky you may even get to hear Rae and some staff singing beautiful tunes. Overall great experience and would highly recommend Rock Solid!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank trishwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hi Trish...it was fantastic to have you here and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! It is wonderful to have guests feel a part of our family here and our aim is to look after each and every one that passes through our doors. Mix ups with tours do happen from time to time so its great that we were able to help you get sorted. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope that you stop by again during your travels! All the best from the Rock Solid Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Solid Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Solid Backpackers

Property: Rock Solid Backpackers
Address: 1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Solid Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG BOLD & BRIGHT! Kia ora - Welcome to Rock Solid Backpackers located in the heart of downtown Rotorua. Owned and operated by locals Barry & Vanessa Miller and their dedicated team, they really do care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and love sharing their hostel and town with their international visitors. Based in a former office block, this large industrial-style building is no cosy cottage but a funky inner city chill out zone at reasonable rates. Guest lounge The large comfortable reception guest lounge is the hub of the hostel with FREE High Speed WiFi, FREE pool table, FREE Table Tennis and FREE XBox. FREE DVDs and FREE book exchange corner. They also have FREE luggage and bike storage room including a fridge to store your food while waiting to check in or depart. Also unique to Rock Solid is being able to view a 17m high rock climbing wall through floor-to-ceiling windows from this guest lounge. Or if you feel like having a go, guests can climb for just $12 which includes, shoes, harness, chalk and climbing until you drop(not literally!) Or if you prefer a bit of arty culture you can check out what's on in the Basement Arts Cinema downstairs too! Kitchen & Dining Room A large well equipped guest kitchen and dining room for guests to prepare and cook their meals and snacks. This hostel also actively recycles packaging. Guest Laundry Coin operated washing machines, driers and laundry powder dispensers are also available. Tours & Activities Rotorua is the ultimate north island adventure and cultural destination, offering a huge range of activities to suit every taste, budget and thrill factor which hosts are happy to arrange for their guests. Parking There is both limited free public street parking and charge meter parking available in front of the hostel. From 5pm-9am (daily) this parking is FREE. It is also free from Saturday 12:00 noon to Monday 9:00am. More information is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Rock Solid Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing